Creamy Tomato Tuna Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My husband and I loved this, but we made some substitutions along the way, mostly because we cannot afford some of the more expensive ingredients. We used a 5 oz. can of tuna in oil, substituted 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce and 1/2 tsp. soy sauce for the anchovy paste, put in two large dashes of oregano and red pepper flakes, and added a dash of paprika as well. We also used two cans of Campbell's tomato soup, which is from concentrate, so we made the soup following the directions on the can, then used 3 1/2 cups of that for the sauce, so we didn't add the additional 1/2 cup of water. We substituted pre-grated Parmesan cheese for the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and 1 tsp. marjoram for the tarragon. And to finish, we garnished it with just some of the leftover Parmesan with no red pepper flakes. And although we weren't able to make this recipe exactly how it's supposed to be, we loved what we ended up with and plan to add this recipe to our list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I didn't have any soup, so I used homemade chicken stock, a little can of tomato paste and heavy cream with a dash of onion powder. No tarragon, so I used about 1/4 c. fresh basil from the garden instead. It had so much flavor! Don't skip the anchovy, it wasn't fishy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I have to say I didn't really have high hopes for this, as I am not a huge fish person. But I do like traditional tuna casseroles, and this sounded good and different, so I gave it a go. WOW! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the tarragon. I swear I bought some, but somehow I didn't end up with it at home, so I subbed just a dash of fennel instead, which did lend a lovely flavor. This is surprisingly and amazingly delicious! The only non-condensed cream of tomato soup I was able to find was a tomato and basil variety, which was wonderful. I had 4 cups of it, so I added it all, since the only tuna in olive oil I found was in cans, and I had a little over 8 ounces of that as well. Yum, yum, yum! Will definitely be making this again and again (and will definitely make sure I get home with the tarragon next time too!). Thanks Chef John! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Simple and quick to make. I didn't use the Tarragon, but followed the rest of the recipe. Even my husband who when I mentioned can Tuna was like oh I'm not going to like that. He loved it, so did my teenage son. Will defitnaly make again. Oh, and loved the kick that the red pepper flakes gave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very, very good recipe. Made it according to the directions except for the fact that I could only find tuna in olive oil in 4.5 oz. cans, so I used two. Also, I can't stand not to use all of something, so I used 16 oz. of pasta and entire 32 oz. carton of cream of tomato soup. Everything else according to the original recipe. So good I'm making it again tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Texas, USA
Living In: Manchaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is by far my favorite pasta recipe. The boyfriend has been requesting it 3 weekends in a row! I used 2/3 Campbell Tomato soup, and 1/3 Campbell's Orange Harvest Tomato soup, and it came out a bit sweeter than if I had gone full Tomato soup. I definitely preferred the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was a very good recipe and a nice vegetarian option. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used basil and marjoram instead of tarragon, since I didn't have any. I also used 1/2tsp soy sauce and 1/2tsp Worcestershire sauce instead of anchovy paste. Everyone I served this to liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
this was very good. but i couldn't leave well enough alone as usual. i tossed in some green olives for good measure. also used home made tomato sauce instead of the canned soup, and no tarragon (don't like it). everything else remained the same. well....no water, i used evaporated milk that needed to be used up. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is very tasty, I didn't have fresh garlic or anchovy, or tarragon, so I used garlic powder, and wasabi (don't ask me why) and I used my left over homemade tomato soup. Excellent, nice flavors, next time I will make sure I have all the ingredients and make it as per the recipe. Easy and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Pleasantly surprised with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States