Creamy Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I'm rating this a 3 because I omitted the chili-garlic sauce. Can't have anything too spicy for medical reasons-Bummer! I needed to whip something up fast, and this was great. I had IQF chicken breasts which were very large, cut them in 1/2, used alot of garlic and reg.onion(no shallots on hand). Sauteed onions and garlic, browned chicken in pan, removed chicken to a plate and made the sauce in the pan using tblsp. of italian seasoning and 1 tsp. oregano. returned chicken to pan and simmered a bit more, added more than 2 tblsp. of cheese. I didn't have no-salt tomato paste either. For what I had on hand, this was a great meal. Served with rice. Thanx, JK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Super easy and tasty. I also skipped the chile-garlic sauce since I had everything on hand except that. I also used Italian seasoning instead of separate spices since I was out of thyme. I was expecting the sauce to be runnier but its actually pretty thick and coats the chicken well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPEREDKERI2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I changed the recipe so it would suit my taste buds: used chunks of skinless boneless cooked chicken breast that I added at the end of the sauce recipe. Used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream. (If you're on a gluten-free diet you might be lactose intolerant too, so remember to take a lactose pill.) I used a prepared organic g.f. soup instead of tomato paste and added just a dollop of milk.).) In short, I used the bare bones of the recipe but thank you though for the recipe's basic structure - it a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
The family loved it. My daughter who is a really picky eater walked into the other room to tell me how good it was. And my mother in law said it was great comfort food, she slept like a baby after eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Yummy. Definitely not as spicy as I thought it was going to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Wardlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Made this dish last night.Doubled the sauce recipe, my husband has a thing for sauces and gravies..served it with rice and asparagus. My 21 yr old and husband LOVED it!! I thought it was pretty good, i ended up sprinkling parm. cheese on it. Think the addition of Basil ( preferably fresh) would add something.Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazecook66

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
If I could give this recipe a 10 rating, I would. I fixed as written and it was incredible. Of course, it is due to the butter and cream, but the flavor was outstanding. Just the right amount of heat. I definately would fix again! It will go into my favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I thought it was really good the only thing is it was a little too tomatoey. I added more cream and a little vodka to the sauce to thin out, seasoned it with salt, pepper and some italian seasoning. I placed the chicken breasts (i made enough for 8) in a baking dish sprayed with cooking spray in a 350 oven for 25 min. I placed the shredded mozzarella on top and baked until melted. To me it was like a mock chicken parmesan without the breading. I served the chicken with some italian herbed rice that I made and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this dish almost exact. I used the same amount of everything but used only two chicken breasts and used 2% milk instead of heavy. It was very yummy! I would love to make this for guests as it was only my boyfriend and me. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
was like chicken in spaghetti sauce, thought it would be creamier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States