Creamy Tomato Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This bisque is absolutely delicious! I didn't have any anise liquor so used a little bit of 2% milk and it was still amazing. Easy to make and wonderful! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The recipe was brilliantly simple. Except for the rediculously extravagant and unnecessary "Pernod" reference as a anise flavored liqueuer ingredient when much less expensive alternates would work more than adequately, this recipe is a winner! I added two cloves or minced garlic and a quarter cup of sundries tomato to give a bit more kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Absolutely delicious and rich; the basil completes this recipe-gives it body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is wonderful and easy to make. I cut the salt in half and use 2Tlb dried basil instead of the fresh as it's hard to find good fresh basil here. I also add about 1 pound raw shrimp and 1/2 pound scallops and one can of chopped clams for the last 5 or so minutes of cooking (the shrimp turn orange when done). It's an amazing meal that always seems to evaporate before my eyes. Thanks Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I was looking for a basic tomato basil bisque to go with grilled cheese, and this one was perfect! I didn't have anise or fennel, so I made it without those and it was so yummy, so filling. Like everyone else, I cut the salt in half. Will try next time with greek yogurt instead of the half and half.(I removed the soup from the heat before adding the half and half, no problems with it curdling.) I will be making this recipe a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Delicious recipe. Like others I used less salt (only 2tsp). I didn't have anise liqueur, but I did have anise extract so I substituted with 2 tsp of extract. I was concerned the anise and fennel would be overpowering given the strong aroma, but after cooking and letting the favors blend I was pleasantly surprised. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great soup. I didn't have any anise flavored liqueur, but I guess I didn't miss it because it was delicious. I can't wait to use this on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Left out the fennel seed (too much for my husband) and used one cup whole milk and one cup half-and-half. Can't wait to make this with fresh tomatoes this summer. Truly a masterpiece. Thanks for such a fabulous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this yesterday while we watched football and it was delicious! I didn't have any fennel or anise liqueur, so I left those out but it was a great soup. I sauteed my onions in the butter, along with some garlic, and then added it to my food processor to make it smooth. The small market by our house didn't have fresh basil, so I used dried and it came out nicely. I added a bit of sugar, also, as suggested by another reviewer. I'm not a pro at soups by any means so it was nice to try this and have it come out so well. Paired it with the obligatory grilled cheese and hello dinner (and lunch leftovers!) Very, very happy with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Laura Gott
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is delicious! I was given some home-grown tomatoes so blanched and peeled them. I didn't have fennel or anise, I bet those would have made it even better. I like garlic so I added some. I had three varieties of basil growing outside and used a little of each. I didn't have half and half so I used a can of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Gott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States