Creamy Tomato Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Left out the fennel seed (too much for my husband) and used one cup whole milk and one cup half-and-half. Can't wait to make this with fresh tomatoes this summer. Truly a masterpiece. Thanks for such a fabulous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a good "thick" soup. I did not have anise liqueur or half-n-half, so I used 1% milk. I think next time I might add a cup of V8 juice or vegetable broth to make it more soup-like not sauce like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmendorf Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is wonderful and easy to make. I cut the salt in half and use 2Tlb dried basil instead of the fresh as it's hard to find good fresh basil here. I also add about 1 pound raw shrimp and 1/2 pound scallops and one can of chopped clams for the last 5 or so minutes of cooking (the shrimp turn orange when done). It's an amazing meal that always seems to evaporate before my eyes. Thanks Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Yummy! Changed the recipe a bit. Caramelized the onions in the butter and deglazed the pan with dry sherry (no anise liqueur on hand). Added extra fennel and dried basil, decreased the salt to a single teaspoon of coarse sea salt, and added a bit of sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes. Instead of half and half, used a block of lowfat cream cheese and a cup of skim milk, and then hit it with the immersion blender. Ate it with grilled cheese sandwiches. Husband was pleased! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Gott
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is delicious! I was given some home-grown tomatoes so blanched and peeled them. I didn't have fennel or anise, I bet those would have made it even better. I like garlic so I added some. I had three varieties of basil growing outside and used a little of each. I didn't have half and half so I used a can of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Gott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great soup. I didn't have any anise flavored liqueur, but I guess I didn't miss it because it was delicious. I can't wait to use this on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Delicious recipe. Like others I used less salt (only 2tsp). I didn't have anise liqueur, but I did have anise extract so I substituted with 2 tsp of extract. I was concerned the anise and fennel would be overpowering given the strong aroma, but after cooking and letting the favors blend I was pleasantly surprised. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
so yummy but to much salt for me and im a salt lover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The recipe was brilliantly simple. Except for the rediculously extravagant and unnecessary "Pernod" reference as a anise flavored liqueuer ingredient when much less expensive alternates would work more than adequately, this recipe is a winner! I added two cloves or minced garlic and a quarter cup of sundries tomato to give a bit more kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This bisque is absolutely delicious! I didn't have any anise liquor so used a little bit of 2% milk and it was still amazing. Easy to make and wonderful! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States