Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
In the interest of eating healthier, I cut the oil and butter in half and it worked fine. I read the reviews about it being to watery so I just let my tomatoes cook without a lid for awhile and it was fine. I'm sure how much water you have depends on the type of tomatoes you use. I used fresh out of the garden along with fresh parsley and basil and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Ok with the basil. Absolutely amazing without basil. I used green onion instead in subsequent batches because we don't like basil here. Seriously it's super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made it in the winter so no fresh tomatoes or basil. Instead used canned crushed tomatoes and a couple of tablespoons of basil pesto and added a couple of cloves of chopped garlic. Also used Better than Bullion chicken broth since I was out of homemade. Even with these not so fresh ingredients, the soup was outstanding! The immersion blender made the soup so smooth there was no need for straining. Served with parmesan-topped crostini and it made a delicious lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Sounds Yummy. Im making this tomorrow, so Ill let you know how it turns out !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I thought it was okay but sort of bland. It seemed to need something but I couldn't figure out what. I'll try a different recipe the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is my wife's favorite soup. I always use fresh ripe tomatoes and never strain it. We love the texture. I don't peel the tomatoes either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Love this recipe! Added some minced garlic after sautéing the onion as well as a tsp. of lemon juice and balsamic vinegar per the advice of another member. I doubled the recipe for a big group using 5 14 oz. hunts diced tomatoes and one 28 oz. crushed tomatoes (tomatoes not in season-ones in the grocery store from another country)a couple of tbs. of tomato paste to make it my own. I also used less butter and oil because I just didn't need that much to sauté the onion and garlic. served with grill cheese sandwiches! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I loved this soup, as did my husband. The only thing I did differently was omit the cream and add a cup or so of uncooked rotini. I also did not strain it, which leaves a bit of pulp which we prefer. It is definitely better using fresh basil, but I have also made it with dried and it was (almost) just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Not good at all. Very very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Just made this recipe today. I followed some of the other suggestions and added garlic to the onion cooking process, and also added some spices of my own. After the first blending process I added 1 can (156ml) of herb & garlic tomato paste, as well as some cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes and some cinnamon (all to taste, depends how much heat you like!).. to make sure there weren't any big chunks of the red pepper flakes I did blend it a little more. I think adding the additional spices brought this soup to another level. It was good on it's own, but the flavour has more depth after the things I added... I plan to top my bowl off with some grated cheddar cheese.. will definitely make this again with the above modifications. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States