Creamy Tomato And Cream Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Meh. Too watery for me. I loved all of residents, but didn't love the final product. And by the way, this recipe makes A LOT of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Amazingly good. Made this with chicken soup stock instead as I had it on hand...I used a potato masher to mash up the vegetables slightly..before serving, added freshly grated parmesan cheese. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I kind of cheated on this recipe and just used it for inspiration! I originally started out making plain tomato soup from a can. I decided to try and incorporate this recipe into what I had a already started. I used a family size container of Campbells Tomato Soup, used equal parts milk. Then added about 1 tsp sugar, 3-4 tbsp dried basil, and 1 tsp of Oregano. I threw in an extra vegetable bullion just for a little extra flavor. I then used my mixer and beat the cream cheese til soft and slowly added in my soup mix until it was all mixed. It came out great! Not a thick soup like others mentioned but the flavor was really good! Not to mention the fact, only took me about 5 minutes from start to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
With a few changes it was the most delicious soup I have ever had. The first time I made it it tasted like a blended up vegetable soup more then tomato soup. So next time I made it I added 6 oz of cream cheese and an extra can of tomatoes (14.5 oz). I had found canned tomatoes with garlic (saves putting garlic in) and olive oil. For half of the broth I also ended up using stock from cooking pork I had left over. With the addition of a bay leaf during cooking and extra basil (just remember to take the bay leaf out before you blend it), it was delicious. I would recommend cooking the tomatoes a little longer and also cooking the soup in last step longer. It always seems the longer you cook soup the better it is. An immersion blender works the best and can do all ingredients together. I just softened the cream cheese in the microwave before i blended it all so it mixed better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Fabulous soup!! It was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I loved this soup. I doubled the cream cheese and omitted the celery since I don't like it. It tasted like a restaurant soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Love it! I make this for myself and eat on this for a week at lunch. This makes a ton, so I usually cut it in half. Excellent with saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsByrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is wonderful! The only changes I made were that I sauted ALL my veggies in twice the amount of butter and heated the tomatoes on the stove top, doubled the basil and added 1 T dark brown sugar. I also added 8 oz cream cheese. Perfect! Served w/ grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was the best tomato soup I have ever had. The only thing I did differently was use butter instead of margarine, used veggie stock, and omitted the mushrooms. I also didn't have cream cheese so I used creamy swiss wedges from laughing cow. I don't know if that made a huge difference, but it was the best tomato soup ever! I ate it all and even the annoying neighbor kids who always want me to feed them said it was good. Serve with a grilled pepper jack sandwich on rye for a spicy kick. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Much tastier than store-bought. I used fresh herbs instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States