Creamy Tomato And Cream Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This soup is great if you do the following. Double the basil and add a bay leaf and some cayenne to the current spices listed. Then instead of using a food processor, put the cream cheese in the blender with a Tbsp. of milk, blend, then add the prepared soup to the cream cheese mixture one cup at a time until pureed. I like my soup a little chunky so I leave a little bit of unpureed soup in the pot then I combine them. I used fresh tomatoes that I skinned and seeded. I had a ton of them this fall. mmmmmmmmmm what a great way to use them, in a nice creamy soup serve with a grilled cheese sandwich. An absolute Keeper. It froze pretty well too, it didn't curdle like most creamed soups, so I can eat it all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This soup is delicious. I did put all ingredients in the blender at the very end but did not blend it smooth, I think it tastes better with a little texture. Also the blender helps the cream cheese mix in better. My boyfriend raves about this soup and eats three or more bowls every time I make it. We like eating healthy and with all the veggies in this there are some benefits however since he overindulges every time I am not sure how good it is for him. We love this soup and make it every other week at least and we always finish the entire pot. Thanks for a delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
This soup is fabulous! Substituting fresh herbs for the dried herbs is recommended when possible. Chicken stock may also be used in place of the beef stock. The flavor of this soup is delightful--just rich enough without being overbearing and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Somehow, the title and reviews led me to think this soup would be thick and creamy. But it wasn't; it's rich in flavor, but not in texture. However, it went over very well - most of the family had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I love this soup! I made a number of minor changes, but I actually followed this recipe more closely than I usually follow others. I used 8 ounces of cream cheese instead of 3, used water and 6 beef boullion cubes instead of beef broth, and used about half a jar of roasted red peppers instead of the fresh one. I also pureed the whole thing in the blender because my husband won't eat vegetable chunks. My husband (a die-hard vegetable hater) thought the soup was okay, which is a victory! Next time I make it, I won't bother with the parsley, but I'll make the rest the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
One person in my family liked this, hence the low rating. I didn't care for this at all. The recipe instructs to cover and roast the tomato, red pepper and garlic mixture for 25 minutes. When I took it out of the oven it wasn't even hot in the middle. What is the point in this step? Nothing is roasted, just heated up. I am not a picky eater and I like all of the ingredients called for. For some reason I found they didn't blend well, every flavour seemed too sharp, especially the mushrooms, celery and rosemary. I tried a bowl the next day but unfortunately the flavour did not get any better. Rather than discarding I will freeze the rest for the one that likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was the best tomato soup I have ever had. The only thing I did differently was use butter instead of margarine, used veggie stock, and omitted the mushrooms. I also didn't have cream cheese so I used creamy swiss wedges from laughing cow. I don't know if that made a huge difference, but it was the best tomato soup ever! I ate it all and even the annoying neighbor kids who always want me to feed them said it was good. Serve with a grilled pepper jack sandwich on rye for a spicy kick. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
OMG!! This soup is soo good! Hubby had THREE bowls! He doesn't usually rave over new recipes, but he couldn't get enough of this one! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I loved this soup. I doubled the cream cheese and omitted the celery since I don't like it. It tasted like a restaurant soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Love it! I make this for myself and eat on this for a week at lunch. This makes a ton, so I usually cut it in half. Excellent with saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsByrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States