Creamy Tomato And Cream Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I made this for a work surprise party and it was the hit of the party. I made it the night before and decided I wanted it a bit smoother. In the morning I put it in the blender to and then into my slowcooker and off we went. People are still talking about it!! I ony made a couple small changes: I used 8oz. of cream cheese (as suggested) and I did not have enough beef stock so I added 2 cups of water and 3 boulion cubes. Aside from that I dod as told.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
We loved this soup! I didn't change anything except to add a little more basil. Definitely a recipe I will be making again and again ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I love this soup! I made a number of minor changes, but I actually followed this recipe more closely than I usually follow others. I used 8 ounces of cream cheese instead of 3, used water and 6 beef boullion cubes instead of beef broth, and used about half a jar of roasted red peppers instead of the fresh one. I also pureed the whole thing in the blender because my husband won't eat vegetable chunks. My husband (a die-hard vegetable hater) thought the soup was okay, which is a victory! Next time I make it, I won't bother with the parsley, but I'll make the rest the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This soup has a very good flavor, but was not what I expected. Why use cream cheese? I couldn't discern any contribution to the flavor or texture--just added calories. I hoped the cream cheese would provide a creamier texture, but it didn't. For those that might expect otherwise, the texture of this soup is more along the lines of traditional vegetable soup, not the tomato herb soup one might find in a restaurant, or the texture of canned tomato soup. Further, what was the purpose of baking the tomatoes? The oven barely even heated my tomato mixture and didn't seem to do anything scintillating for the flavor. Those beefs out of the way, the soup was fine ... tasty even ... just not what I would call a "cream" soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This soup is delicious. I did put all ingredients in the blender at the very end but did not blend it smooth, I think it tastes better with a little texture. Also the blender helps the cream cheese mix in better. My boyfriend raves about this soup and eats three or more bowls every time I make it. We like eating healthy and with all the veggies in this there are some benefits however since he overindulges every time I am not sure how good it is for him. We love this soup and make it every other week at least and we always finish the entire pot. Thanks for a delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I was disappointed in this soup. The mushrooms seemed to overpower the tomato taste, and with the beef stock it seemed way too mushroom-beefy flavored. I ate some of this, but didn't even try to serve it to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Hubby and I both really enjoyed this. I didn't have any celery so added some green pepper instead (along with the red pepper), and I used fresh rosemary instead of dried. We also prefer smooth soups so after the cream cheese melted, I stuck it all in the blender. Wonderful flavour. Thanks Holly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
OMG!! This soup is soo good! Hubby had THREE bowls! He doesn't usually rave over new recipes, but he couldn't get enough of this one! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
VERY TASTY recipe!! Tastes like a creamy tomato soup. The other veges in the soup compliment the tomato and all blend together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
My family did not care for this recipe. The ingredients are good and nutritious, but I think we're just stuck on a creamy tomato soup. I even added a full 8 oz. block of cream cheese, but it really didn't help. There is no prep time given, and with all the chopping it does take some time, which I don't mind if my family likes a recipe. My husband said "throw out the rest" and he's a diehard brown bagger who loves leftovers. Next time, I'll try a cream/milk based version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States