Creamy Swiss Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
After reading all of the great reviews for this recipe, I was extremely disappointed that for me it just came out okay. I followed the recipe word for word. If I choose to make this again, I will definitely use much smaller chicken. The chicken was really big and no one finished even half. Also I would use much less wine because the taste was really strong.. The garlic powder was also too strong for my liking (I usually love the taste of garlic, I think it might be better with fresh garlic). :/ Despite the few flaws, overall it was alright. The croutons were delicious on the top. Hopefully if I try this again I can get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was a household hit!!! I watched my dinner guests scrape their plates.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Needs way less wine, but it's good. There was plenty of sauce to make a second round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Great! Loved it! very good! I did season the chicken like other and I used cream of celery soup. I LOVE wine, however would reduce it to maybe 3/4 a cup instead of 1 1/4 cup next time. I also increased the croutons. Served it with garlic bread and a wild rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend and he loved it. Now I make it for the rest of my gay friends who would never think of eating a casserole. Great meal before or after a Tea Dance!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indialantic, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
About 1/3cup of white cooking wine, 1 tsp of ground mustard, no cayenne, buttered panko bread crumbs the rest as-is. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choojy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I thought this was great! If you use a good wine (and like wine) the amount of wine shouldn't be a problem but I could taste it. I particularly liked the little bite from the cayenne and the slight crunch from the croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was an ok recipe. The sauce tended to break apart. I seasoned the chicken before baking and reduced the amount of wine as recommended by several other people. This recipe did not wow me but was well received by my partner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I chose this recipe because it had all the ingredients I love....plus it seemed like a relatively easy dish to prepare on a busy weeknight. However, the combination of flavors fell short for me. First of all, you really must season your raw chicken. Not seasoning the main ingredient is like taking a shower without soap! Secondly, like most reviewers, I used less wine than called for, a 1/2 c. Now, I'm a wine lover, but I could have used even less, maybe 1/4 c. I think my main issue with this ingredient combo was the wine with the condensed soup...didn't mesh well for me. I seasoned the sour cream/soup mixture with pepper, garlic/onion powders, paprika, and replaced the mustard seed with dijon. In addition, I crushed some garlic & cheese croutons and added that to the mixture for extra flavor. I also sprinkled extra crushed croutons on top of the assembled dish, covered with foil, and baked 40 minutes. I sprinkled just a few remaining croutons on top and broiled the last 2 minutes to get a nice, crunchy top. I omitted the butter altogether and didn't miss it. Even with the tweaks, I didn't thoroughly enjoy it as much as I anticipated, however, I'm a recipe tweaker by nature, and will likely attempt this recipe again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
My husband LOVED this recipe. It was so quick and easy to make and as for cleanup, well..there was nothing left to cleanup! I used cayenne, S&P, garlic over chicken cutlets..they cooked up perfectly. I only had half the sour cream, added 1/4 of the wine and it was awesome, not too rich. A variation would be to double the Swiss even cook up some bacon strips and make it like a Cordon Bleu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States