Creamy Swiss Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This dish was yummy, my boyfriend liked it too. Changes I made: I seasoned the raw chicken with some salt, cayenne pepper, and garlic powder first. In the sauce I cut it down to a lil under 1 cup of wine and there was no strong wine taste, I used white zinfendel (sp?) that is actually pink. I added quite a bit extra garlic powder, enough until I could smell it in the sauce. Instead of mustard seed I added about a tablespoon of dijon mustard. I let the chicken sit overnight with the cheese and sauce on it. Right before baking I added the croutons and melted butter. I did not measure it, just added what I thought I'd want. I baked pepperidge farm puff pastry shells, halfed them, and placed the chicken and sauce over it. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I have made this several times,I do cut back on the wine some.This is very easy to make & tastes wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
AWESOME, IF YOUR BROWSING THROUGH CHICKEN RECEIPE'S CHOOSE THIS ONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALETVETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This should realy be called creamy swiss WINE chicken. This is a great easy recipe but definetly has a strong wine taste so if you love wine you will love this recipe (I dont like wine so next time ill use 1/3 cup instead) chicken came out super tender though (that was my favorit part.) this recipe is great over rice too! Will make again with less wine. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Yummy! After reading the reviews, I made sure to season the chicken with several seasonings: cayanne pepper, fresh ground pepper, 3 garlic cloves, thyme and salt. I used the full amount of wine called for and it made the sauce taste excellent! I must have used double the amount of croutons called for and I loved it. I also used triple the cheese because the breasts were huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I made this exactly as directed (I didn't read the reviews 'til it was already in the oven). Then I worried about the amount of wine... I needn't have. It came out delicious. The entire family enjoyed it - from my 5 year old to my very picky husband! It was an easy, delicious weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Betancourt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was good, but all the topping slid off both times I've made it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I didn't like the recipe. I think the chicken breasts were too big and needed to be smaller. I am not sure if I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I have made this several times for my husband and family. It is our favorite chicken recipe. I used StoveTop chicken stuffing which added a nice herb flavor. I also eliminated the mustard seed as it was too tangy for my taste. I agree with others that the wine should be reduced to about a cup or less. This is an easy recipe that can be made in advance of company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
SUPER DUPER!!!! I didn't have any white wine on hand so I had to use marsala instead. It was wonderful and my whole family devoured this quick, easy, yet very elegant dish that's just perfect for either a week night meal or a nice dinner party. Thanks so much Dan!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States