Creamy Swiss Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was easy and good, not great for me. I substituted sparkling apple cider for the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
this was yummy even the kids liked it. I didn't have mustard seed or mustard powder, so i used dijon mustard. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I've been using this recipe with great results for many years...(thank you to the original poster)... I substitute provelone for the Swiss, omit the cayanne pepper, and use mustard powder not mustard seed. The sauce is awesome when mopped up with hawaiian rolls, and it pairs well with corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Really good! Made it for Xmas dinner. I doubled the recipe but would leave or reduce the amount of cayenne pepper. It was overpowering. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
My husband and I really like this recipe. It was very easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This dish was yummy, my boyfriend liked it too. Changes I made: I seasoned the raw chicken with some salt, cayenne pepper, and garlic powder first. In the sauce I cut it down to a lil under 1 cup of wine and there was no strong wine taste, I used white zinfendel (sp?) that is actually pink. I added quite a bit extra garlic powder, enough until I could smell it in the sauce. Instead of mustard seed I added about a tablespoon of dijon mustard. I let the chicken sit overnight with the cheese and sauce on it. Right before baking I added the croutons and melted butter. I did not measure it, just added what I thought I'd want. I baked pepperidge farm puff pastry shells, halfed them, and placed the chicken and sauce over it. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Not a keeper , sorry. The chicken was moist but was too bland , even my husband who eats everything wasn't crazy about this dish. The Anniversary chicken{ found on this site } is still one of his favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hickory Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Night Owl
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I agree with most on here that there is too much wine to this recipe. I actually used 7 chicken breasts, and the mixture on top was more than sufficient. So cutting down on the wine will give a thicker mixture and take out less of the taste that cuts from the dish. The flavor of strictly chicken seemed a bit bland to me as well so I subsituted a Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic to accentuate the taste. It worked out very well aside from just an overwhelming wine flavor. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I halved the recipe, but didn't use a full portion of the wine. It tasted all right, but I didn't like that the sauce spread so much and we had to scoop it back over the chicken. Next time I think I'll make the following changes: Season the chicken a bit before putting the cheese on. It was a tad bland for us. I'll also cook the chicken a bit, then put the cheese on. Heat the sauce on the oven and then pour over the chicken with approx. 5 min of cooking time left. Sprinkle croutons (no butter) on the chicken and broil for a couple minutes. I'll re-review after my second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I made this before reading some of the reviews and we really did not like it (at all). I thought the sauce was too cheesie and rather bland. OTOH, the chicken was very tender and moist. Overall, MEH...:shrug:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States