Creamy Swiss Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This recipe is great. I reduced the fat a little by using low-fat/low sodium cream of mushroom soup, 2% milk swiss cheese, and reduced fat sour cream. Additionally, I added a small can of sliced mushrooms to complement the soup. Lastly, I used Pepperidge Farm Stuffing mix instead of croutons. The end result was wonderful! My husband (who has a very sophisticated palate) loved it! The chicken was tender, the sauce was rich (even with the lower fat substitutes)- it is a recipe I will use again and again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Fabulous! I always double up on the cheese cuz I LOVE Swiss cheese and season the chicken with salt and garlic pepper. I don't keep croutons around so I use a box of Whole Wheat or Cornbread stuffing (which i always have around) and it really makes the meal pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth James, Midwest Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is pretty good. I used a single-serve bottle of chardonnay, which is about 1 cup, and I didn't think it was too much wine at all. I used dijon mustard, but I didn't notice it in the dish much. I served it over brown rice. Changes that I suggest would be to double the croutons and cut back on the cayenne (I thought it was too overpowering).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My family liked this. I agree with the other reviewers, to much wine. I also used dijon mustard and I think it gave it to much zing. Next time I will use the mustard seed and cut back on the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very nice. I made this for my husband and grandson. I would have added a little more seasonings or herbs, but both the guys gave it a thumbs up as it is, so can't argue with that. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Yummy! After reading the reviews, I made sure to season the chicken with several seasonings: cayanne pepper, fresh ground pepper, 3 garlic cloves, thyme and salt. I used the full amount of wine called for and it made the sauce taste excellent! I must have used double the amount of croutons called for and I loved it. I also used triple the cheese because the breasts were huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
mix cream of chicken with herbs and cream of mushroom with roasted garlic used provelone cheese (but have used swiss too both yummy) made stuffing with sausage a little on the moist side and put that on top covered and cooked covered 45 min. and another 15 - 20 min uncovered to brown up stuffing! Fantastic meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weaverized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I don't use cayenne & didn't have mustard seed or seasoned croutons, so I subbed Dijon Mustard and crushed up "stove top" type stuffing mix. Added a pinch of dill weed (as I usually do in any cream recipe) and we thought this was absolute FABULOUS!!Served w/Egg Noodles with the sauce over top and it was a hit in my home. Gone into my recipe box for future retrieval!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelCole

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
One of my favorite recipes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KALBERRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I thought this came out great! My fiance and I love it. I did use dijon mustard instead of mustard seed and seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder before putting the cheese on top. I also cut back on the amount of wine. It turned out wonderful...will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States