Creamy Sweet Potato With Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This came out great. I made a mistake and added too much cayenne. To fix it I roasted a butternut squash and used an immersion blender to combine and it gave it a wonderful flavor. Happy accidents are always welcome at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great soup! The vegetables caramelize beautifully with this method (though I think it would also work fine in the oven, which would take longer but keep my hands free for other things). I added extra cayenne pepper, lots of black pepper, and used heavy cream instead of 1/2 & 1/2; otherwise followed as written. I didn't find it at all too sweet - these are sweet potatoes, after all. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I tend to change most recipes I use, but this one was perfect. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
My family loved this recipe. The ginger gave the soup some 'heat' which is perfect for the fall. Combined with the nutmeg and pepper, it also made the soup smell heavenly as it cooked. It was very creamy. I substituted soy milk for the half and half. I forgot to get the peanuts, so I garnished with walnuts. We will certainly have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerryda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is a nice fall soup. The spices are just right, and I love how the cayenne doesn't hit you at first, but sneaks up on you. I bought honey roasted peanuts especially for this, but I don't think they added that much to it; in fact, I would use plain roasted peanuts in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
It's a little sweet for me but i really enjoyed it for a change of pace with sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Added curry and cumin. LOVED This! I make it quite often changing up ingredents. All in the ways, they still all turn out fabulous. I do cook potatoes night before in oven or mic to speed the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My family and friends love this soup. I make it exactly as written. I once used fresh ginger...don't, it is just right as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is one of the richest, silkiest, velvetiest soups ive ever had. This is so wonderful. The only alterations i made was using unsweeteded plain Silk soymilk and added one more clove of garlic. This is so simple and so impressive. I served it with a small side salad with a drizzle of caesar dressing and it was to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very nice and creamy! I wanted to taste the sweet potatoes and not taste like pumpkin pie so I cut the ginger back to 1 tsp. and used just a pinch of nutmeg and cayenne. For the chicken broth I used 2 Knorr chicken cubes dissolved in the 3 cups of boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States