Creamy Summer Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Not only is this a great soup, I have found another good use for this recipe! Use it in a casserole instead of cream of mushroom/celery/ chicken soup. It makes a wonderful base for casserole dishes and you are using less sodium and chemicals from the canned soup stuff! I used it in a rice/chicken casserole bake and it was so much more flavorful than using canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is DA BOMB! I could not find half the ingredients so I substituted a lot. First, I used tabel queen squash (from my garden). I took out the seeds, peeled it, and chopped into chunks. Second I could not find tarragon so I used fresh basil from my garden. I could not find vegetable stock so I used chicken stock. I used fresh lemons and squeezed them. I also used garlic salt instead of sea salt. Oh, I used instant potatoes to thicken the soup to my tastes. I am a FAN FOR LIFE! yum! Oh, and the bread I coated with butter and garlic salt and put on the top rack of my oven to toast. Next time I am going to add chicken. I think chicken would finish this recipie nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Cain-Rojo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This soup was fairly easy to make, and tasted great. Although the name makes it sound like a summertime soup, it definitely tastes like a heavier, fall or winter soup. I tried this out on my parents for a dinner party they are having, and they loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This soup was a delicious way to use up the huge amounts of summer squash I've been getting from my CSA. I made a few changes: I diced half of a small red onion and sauteed in butter before step 1. I replaced the terragon with thai basil and the half and half with hemp milk because that was all I had. Turned out great though. I would give it 5 stars, but even with the addition of the onion it was just a bit bland for my taste. Next time, I will add celery in with the onion and maybe a tiny bit of either jalapeno or cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My family loved this recipe. I made it pretty much per the instructions except I added fresh basil from the garden and used chicken stock instead of vegetable. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I loved this recipe. I did use fresh basil rather than tarragon because that is what I had in the garden. I am making a few batches to freeze so that I can enjoy this soup during the cooler months. In order to freeze it, I omitted the 1/2 and 1/2 and cheese. I will add those ingredients after thawing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very good soup! I didn't have zucchini so I used celery instead. I also cooked some garlic and onions with the celery in olive oil before adding the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I made lots of changes, so it is hard to rate the absolute original recipe, but I used it as a base and went from there. My changes: no half and half, used full fat plain yogurt instead i no zucchini, but had broccoli shreds instead 1 whole yellow onion, sauteed in butter combination of veggie stock and chicken stock dried tarragon instead of fresh .using the cheese as garnish rather than in the body of the soup So with those changes, it was delish. I pureed most of the veggies, left some of them a bit chunky for some mouth feel. I am tempted to use the instant potato flakes like one other reviewer suggested, as I added too much yogurt and it came out a bit runny.. but maybe I'll just do that for half. I did not add garlic, as I usually would, as this stayed lighter and fresher with just the tarragon. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I did like this recipe and I added a few of my own spices to give it more flavor; spinach and herb spice, some basil, and parsley; It could be even more jazzed up with some curry powder and I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great soup for a nice summer day. Ater reading what others had done, I used basil instead of the tarregon and I added onion and celery. I only added some cheese to the soup when it was in the bowl to be served. We both liked it. I will make some more with out the cream, as another lady said, so I can freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States