Creamy Summer Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
(As many before, this is review of the elaborated version of this recipe.) Sauteed 1/2 onion, 3 cloves garlic and 1 stalk celery in olive oil before beginning on the directions in the recipe. Added in 1/2 a chopped jalapeno to the mix, used 1% milk, and chicken stock during the simmering portion. Then I added a pinch of cumin, some mozzarella and sour cream with the cheddar for extra creaminess. Tastes good, but I'd like more spiciness, and less celery flavor next time. I think next time I'll do 1 medium onion, 5 cloves garlic, 1 jalapeno and no celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I found this soup to be quite bland. It needed something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zach Matott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very good, very simple, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Have used this recipes for several years. Only changes I made was using 2% milk instead of cream and add a couple tsp of curry powder. Best with very fresh squash from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Hopkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GaylaDaLynn
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is pretty good but I did add quite a bit to it. I added a habanero to kick up the spice. I also used parsley instead of tarragon, added spinach, onions, and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty closely. I used 5 medium yellow squash from the garden, no zucchini. I used a little bit of sea salt, and a little bit of garlic salt. Also - I added a large spoonful of sour cream into it. Perfect! Very easy to make, and great on a rainy day like we're having right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tklumpp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This soup is good. It's not amazing but there's absolutely nothing wrong with it. It's pretty hardy and should be lovely in fall/wintertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was quite a bland soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Good recipe to use up yellow squash from the garden! I cooked a small red onion (chopped) and a large banana pepper (chopped) in some olive oil before adding the squash to the pot. I also added a little paprika and garlic powder to the veggies as they were cooking and substituted basil for taragon (because it was on hand). Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was an amazing soup. Just a note, I have made it with chicken broth and also with vegetable stock. I thought it tasted SOOOO much better using the chicken broth. My young kids liked it a lot better with the chicken broth too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States