Creamy Summer Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very good, very simple, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Have used this recipes for several years. Only changes I made was using 2% milk instead of cream and add a couple tsp of curry powder. Best with very fresh squash from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GaylaDaLynn
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is pretty good but I did add quite a bit to it. I added a habanero to kick up the spice. I also used parsley instead of tarragon, added spinach, onions, and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty closely. I used 5 medium yellow squash from the garden, no zucchini. I used a little bit of sea salt, and a little bit of garlic salt. Also - I added a large spoonful of sour cream into it. Perfect! Very easy to make, and great on a rainy day like we're having right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tklumpp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This soup is good. It's not amazing but there's absolutely nothing wrong with it. It's pretty hardy and should be lovely in fall/wintertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was quite a bland soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Good recipe to use up yellow squash from the garden! I cooked a small red onion (chopped) and a large banana pepper (chopped) in some olive oil before adding the squash to the pot. I also added a little paprika and garlic powder to the veggies as they were cooking and substituted basil for taragon (because it was on hand). Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was an amazing soup. Just a note, I have made it with chicken broth and also with vegetable stock. I thought it tasted SOOOO much better using the chicken broth. My young kids liked it a lot better with the chicken broth too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I made lots of changes, so it is hard to rate the absolute original recipe, but I used it as a base and went from there. My changes: no half and half, used full fat plain yogurt instead i no zucchini, but had broccoli shreds instead 1 whole yellow onion, sauteed in butter combination of veggie stock and chicken stock dried tarragon instead of fresh .using the cheese as garnish rather than in the body of the soup So with those changes, it was delish. I pureed most of the veggies, left some of them a bit chunky for some mouth feel. I am tempted to use the instant potato flakes like one other reviewer suggested, as I added too much yogurt and it came out a bit runny.. but maybe I'll just do that for half. I did not add garlic, as I usually would, as this stayed lighter and fresher with just the tarragon. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great soup for a nice summer day. Ater reading what others had done, I used basil instead of the tarregon and I added onion and celery. I only added some cheese to the soup when it was in the bowl to be served. We both liked it. I will make some more with out the cream, as another lady said, so I can freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States