Creamy Summer Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My family loved this recipe. I made it pretty much per the instructions except I added fresh basil from the garden and used chicken stock instead of vegetable. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very good soup! I didn't have zucchini so I used celery instead. I also cooked some garlic and onions with the celery in olive oil before adding the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I loved this recipe. I did use fresh basil rather than tarragon because that is what I had in the garden. I am making a few batches to freeze so that I can enjoy this soup during the cooler months. In order to freeze it, I omitted the 1/2 and 1/2 and cheese. I will add those ingredients after thawing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great soup for a nice summer day. Ater reading what others had done, I used basil instead of the tarregon and I added onion and celery. I only added some cheese to the soup when it was in the bowl to be served. We both liked it. I will make some more with out the cream, as another lady said, so I can freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was an amazing soup. Just a note, I have made it with chicken broth and also with vegetable stock. I thought it tasted SOOOO much better using the chicken broth. My young kids liked it a lot better with the chicken broth too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty closely. I used 5 medium yellow squash from the garden, no zucchini. I used a little bit of sea salt, and a little bit of garlic salt. Also - I added a large spoonful of sour cream into it. Perfect! Very easy to make, and great on a rainy day like we're having right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tklumpp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Have used this recipes for several years. Only changes I made was using 2% milk instead of cream and add a couple tsp of curry powder. Best with very fresh squash from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is DA BOMB! I could not find half the ingredients so I substituted a lot. First, I used tabel queen squash (from my garden). I took out the seeds, peeled it, and chopped into chunks. Second I could not find tarragon so I used fresh basil from my garden. I could not find vegetable stock so I used chicken stock. I used fresh lemons and squeezed them. I also used garlic salt instead of sea salt. Oh, I used instant potatoes to thicken the soup to my tastes. I am a FAN FOR LIFE! yum! Oh, and the bread I coated with butter and garlic salt and put on the top rack of my oven to toast. Next time I am going to add chicken. I think chicken would finish this recipie nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Not only is this a great soup, I have found another good use for this recipe! Use it in a casserole instead of cream of mushroom/celery/ chicken soup. It makes a wonderful base for casserole dishes and you are using less sodium and chemicals from the canned soup stuff! I used it in a rice/chicken casserole bake and it was so much more flavorful than using canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Good recipe to use up yellow squash from the garden! I cooked a small red onion (chopped) and a large banana pepper (chopped) in some olive oil before adding the squash to the pot. I also added a little paprika and garlic powder to the veggies as they were cooking and substituted basil for taragon (because it was on hand). Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States