Creamy Succotash with Bacon, Thyme and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I needed a vegie recipe for 120 people for a dinner I was catering at church and this was delicious. I omitted chives and used powdered thyme instead(couldn't find fresh) I sprinkled the bacon on top after it was poured into trays. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Very good. I used can lima beans and corn because that is what I had on had on hand and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is fabulous. I followed recipe as is; made a day ahead, and as per recipe, did not add the cooked bacon and chives until I was reheating right before serving. Definately use frozen vegies -- better flavor and texture. I highly recommend this for Thanksgiving buffet; easy, very nice colors, and very tasty -- and I think even picky eaters would be surprised if they give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I have a fond nostalgia for succotash, and was so pleased to find this recipe for an updated version when searching for one recently in advance of a southern themed supper. I love the combination of flavors and textures. I've made it several times now, and have used dried thyme in lieu of fresh; have omitted the chives by mistake: still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this for a gathering, doubled the recipe, and it was gobbled up! I made it ahead by a couple of hours and kept it warm in a 170 degree oven until I had to go. Really good comfort food recipe! I was unable to find the baby lima beans, and used regular size, and it worked fine. I also substituted green onions for the chives. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaii Tutu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was wonderful! I didn't have any cream, so I used evaporated milk and a pat of butter. It was so easy to make, and tasty and filling- even the kids cleaned their plates. Will be making again- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was delicious! I was skepical at first because the succotash of my childhood was very sweet, and I was worried this would not live up to that. But it was better! I'm a college student, who's mother stocked the pantry, so I had canned limas and corn which I used. I drained the limas but not the corn because the corn juice was sweeter, and since I wasn't cooking the limas in water, I figured I needed some more liquid. I also had no heavy cream so I used whole milk, less than the half cup called for. I didn't have the thyme or the chives, so for another flavor I sauteed some red bell pepper in the bacon fat when I was doing the onions. I was delicious, all my college friends loved it. And for someone who is not very experienced at cooking, it was an easy recipe to make a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Oh wow. With a good shake of Cajun spice blend, and everything else exactly as stated in the recipe, you've got yourself a keeper. Yum!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Okay, this was downright delicious. Must've been the bacon fat and half/half because I've never tasted beans and corn to be so savory. I might try one of the lighter versions the other reviewers suggested next time to make it a little healthier. If you don't care about that though, follow the recipe to the T! Also, I used edamame instead of lima beans - just what I had in the house - and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is a delicious recipe. I usually make it as written and it is loved by all. While I typically enjoy tinkering with recipes, I can't improve on this one. My husband, daughter, picky grandsons and friends all devour it and return for seconds. It's fabulous and I really encourage everyone to try it. Oh, OK, I often reduce the calorie count by substituting some of the cream with fat free half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States