Creamy Succotash with Bacon, Thyme and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I needed a vegie recipe for 120 people for a dinner I was catering at church and this was delicious. I omitted chives and used powdered thyme instead(couldn't find fresh) I sprinkled the bacon on top after it was poured into trays. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Very good. I used can lima beans and corn because that is what I had on had on hand and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is fabulous. I followed recipe as is; made a day ahead, and as per recipe, did not add the cooked bacon and chives until I was reheating right before serving. Definately use frozen vegies -- better flavor and texture. I highly recommend this for Thanksgiving buffet; easy, very nice colors, and very tasty -- and I think even picky eaters would be surprised if they give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I have a fond nostalgia for succotash, and was so pleased to find this recipe for an updated version when searching for one recently in advance of a southern themed supper. I love the combination of flavors and textures. I've made it several times now, and have used dried thyme in lieu of fresh; have omitted the chives by mistake: still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Very good, I used sausage instead of bacon, but I felt like it needed another spice to make it great. I will still make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was very good. My cream did not reduce much, so it's a good idea to mix before scooping to coat the veges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this for a gathering, doubled the recipe, and it was gobbled up! I made it ahead by a couple of hours and kept it warm in a 170 degree oven until I had to go. Really good comfort food recipe! I was unable to find the baby lima beans, and used regular size, and it worked fine. I also substituted green onions for the chives. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaii Tutu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was wonderful! I didn't have any cream, so I used evaporated milk and a pat of butter. It was so easy to make, and tasty and filling- even the kids cleaned their plates. Will be making again- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was delicious! I was skepical at first because the succotash of my childhood was very sweet, and I was worried this would not live up to that. But it was better! I'm a college student, who's mother stocked the pantry, so I had canned limas and corn which I used. I drained the limas but not the corn because the corn juice was sweeter, and since I wasn't cooking the limas in water, I figured I needed some more liquid. I also had no heavy cream so I used whole milk, less than the half cup called for. I didn't have the thyme or the chives, so for another flavor I sauteed some red bell pepper in the bacon fat when I was doing the onions. I was delicious, all my college friends loved it. And for someone who is not very experienced at cooking, it was an easy recipe to make a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was OK...but I prefer this without the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States