Creamy Succotash with Bacon, Thyme and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I really liked this recipe and many of my guest said that it was their favorite dish. I actually made it the night before and finished it up while the meat was resting. I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
wonderful side we now use at thankgiving and christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is so good. I make it vegetarian with Morningstar veggie bacon on top. I like to add salt and pepper and just use veggie boullion and water to cook the veggies. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I undercooked my beans, but even then... it was fantastic. I don't know that the cream was as thick as I'd like, but I worry that any thicker and the dish would become a 'heavy' dish. Flavors were just like husband remembers as a kid (native southerner). Will DEFINITELY be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was delicious. I added a chopped red bell pepper and sauteed it with the onion. I also added a few splashes of chicken broth with the cream (was using it with another dish that I was making) for a little bit of depth. My husband said that the bacon really "made the dish" and my two year old gobbled it up as well. I'll definitely be coming back to this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have been making this succotash for Thanksgiving for the past 5 years. I follow the recipe as is. Everyone in my family loves this recipe. It also is just as delicious left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I love succotash, so I knew I would love this. This is great with the fresh thyme, but I don't really care for it with the dried...it's just a bit too strong. However, the recipe can be altered as you see fit, too. I first made this for Thanksgiving a couple of years ago, and to my surprise, even those who professed to hating lima beans (butterbeans if you are a Southerner!), loved this dish. I usually use half and half instead of cream. It works well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
My father requested succotash as part of his birthday dinner. He can't have pepper but otherwise I made as directed. Made succotash lovers out of everyone at the dinner table when I'd thought he'd be eating it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Great Spin on classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Parnell
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! Followed the directions as is. This was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States