Creamy Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made the recipe last night exactly as written and loved it! Even the hubby, who has no love for anything that even looks like a casserole, thought it was good! For the stuffing mix, I used Stove Top (for chicken) and thought it gave just the right amount of seasoning. The only error I made was making the cubes of squash a little too large so it took about 10 minutes more of baking to cook them through. Next time, I will cut then into smaller, more bite sized cubes. I served this as a side dish to some baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
we really liked it. i didn't have cream of chicken soup, so sub'd cream of mushroom, and only shredded one carrot instead of two b/c i was short on time, but we REALLY liked the savory taste of this casserole. sure to be on our table many times in the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I got some butternut squash in my bountiful basket and have never cooked with it before. This recipe was simple and extremely tasty. I added some shredded white cheddar on the top and it was very good. I will definately be making it again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dusty1980
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This recipe was really great! I added ground beef to it. I cooked the ground beef and onion together. I then added the cream of chicken soup and sour cream to that mix. I also added a little garlic salt and pepper. Then I mixed that mixture and the butternut squash together in a casserole dish. I prepared the stuffing mixture alone. Then I mixed in half of the stuffing in the casserole mixed, and then topped with the rest of the stuffing. I baked for 25 minutes at 350. It was delicious! And adding the ground beef turned it into a complete meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Dont skimp on sour cream. Took me 40 min in oven not 25. Has a great flavor with shredded chedder cheese sprinkled on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda hill

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vandalia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Made as written other than using a 8" x 8" extra deep baking dish. In step 2, at least double the time for simmering the squash to get it slightly softened as 3 minutes isn’t sufficient. If not sufficiently softened, the bake time is extended with the risk of the casserole not being as moist as it could be. Using the deeper baking dish caused the cooking time to be extended to about 50 minutes (increased temp to 375 degrees during last 25 minutes). A definite make again as everyone luved this very tasty side dish. Thank you apz2002.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
The flavors here did not combine well. The sweetness of the squash clashed with the saltiness of the stuffing. I found it jarring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is the first time I am rating a recipe and the reason - because hubs never eats casserole and doesn't like squash but went back to this for second and thirds! I am not giving it 5 stars only because I made some changes. I didn't use butter or shredded carrots. I added a bit more finely chopped onion. I also added finely chopped portabella mushrooms and lastly, I shredded some good cheddar cheese. I just mixed everything up in a bowl (after steaming the squash) and put it in a baking dish, sprinkled more stuffing on top and threw it in the oven! So easy! Oh I used Pepperidge Farm Herb Seasoned stuffing in the blue bag. Thanks for the great casserole idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I was really excited to make this, but the result was fairly bland for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States