Creamy Spinach Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Beware..this will make your stomach hurt! It is soo rich. I only used half a package of cream cheese too. My husband barely touched it and my stomach hurt all night. But the flavor is delicious! Probably won't make again though :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I would give this 3 1/2 stars if I could. The basic recipe is decent, but bland. First of all, to make it healthier and cut down the richness that so many other reviewers mentioned, I used Neufchatel cream cheese and 1% milk. I also used whole-wheat tortellini and a bag of fresh spinach instead of frozen. I included the mushrooms which I sauteed briefly with the onion. Then, since so many other reviewers mentioned lack of flavor, I added fresh chopped garlic (about a Tbsp) and diced canned tomotoes with jalapenos instead of the fresh cherry tomatoes. Even after all this, I ended up adding garlic salt and black pepper to make the flavor stand out more. I will make this again, but only with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Make sure to add garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
A little bland, but great basic recipe to tweak to taste. Halved the cream cheese and (skim) milk; used a 16 oz bag of frozen spinach - added to the onion/butter after mostly sauteed and did not pre-cook or drain the spinach to simplify things; added garlic powder and Italian seasonings. Loved it with fresh garden tomatoes and threw in some Italian style turkey meatballs for a little more flavor. My 12mo old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. It didn't have a ton of flavor and I even added some garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I would make this again though and try to spice it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was REALLY good! I also changed it up a bit so couldn't give it 5 stars, but with my mods, I would! I also cut the amount of cream cheese & spinach in half (4 oz. cream cheese and 5 oz. of spinach). I sauteed 3 minced garlic cloves with the onion and added some fresh chopped basil, 1/2 tsp of italion seasoning, and a few dashes of salt. I didn't have any mushrooms or I would have added them and we're not big tomato eaters here so I omitted those as well. Even with reducing the cream cheese, this recipe was still very rich. The next time I make it I will use skim milk instead of 2% and I will add a little bit more of it. I may even cut back on the cream cheese a bit more. But I will definitely make it again! My kids gobbled it up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I just made this recipe and really liked it. The only changes I made were that I did not add spinach because I didn't have any on hand. Also, based on prior reviews saying it was a little bland, I added a little garlic salt. It was good with the garlic salt but I think it would have been fine without too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELISH! The only thing I did differently was add ham to it and left out the tomatoes. Such creamy goodness! Will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was good, not great. The spinach took over so you couldn't taste much else. I did add quite a bit of garlic, more milk, and extra parm. cheese. I'll probably make again but cut the spinach in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeiteasy4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I liked it, but it was very heavy. I doubled the recipe (except for the spinach) and left out the mushrooms. I think next time I would put in more flavoring, like garlic or italian seasoning (like someone suggested). So it was really good but really rich!! EDIT: I haven't made this in a long time - I wish I had! I doubled the recipe again, including the spinach, left out the mushrooms, and added some garlic powder. It got rave reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States