Creamy Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Great recipe! I did make changes in preparation beginning with sauteeing the onion & fresh garlic and then adding chicken broth instead of the water. I did not thaw the spinach but did puree the spinach/broth/onion mixture before adding the cream base. To cut fat I substituted 1 1/2 cups of half-and-half with a can of evaporated milk. We will definitely be making this a lot -- easy and very satisfying. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
My husband made this soup and it turned out delicious! The taste reminded me of my mother's homemade creamed spinich, just more "soupy." My only suggestion is, if you're making it for more than two adults, double the recipe. 2 adults and one 7 year old finished this off in one sitting. We will make it again and we WILL double the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I loved this soup! I used 2Tbls. of chicken base as I didn't have the chicken granules and part fat free half and half. The taste was still great. The next time I will use all fat free. I purchased the chicken base from Sam's club. Don't add salt if you use it, as it can be quite salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Very good. Used fresh garlic, some fresh herbs, and some finely diced roasted red peppers to give it more flavor. Gets better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This was super. I used a little real onion minced finely instead of dried stuff but you have to mince it finely. Added a pinch of cayenne powder & grated some nutmeg in it. Super yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Hmmm, interesting. Good for something new. I sautteed the onions and fresh garlic, then added the water and spinach( didn't bother to thaw), simmered, then added 2.5 cups whole milk, and pureed. I omitted the butter/flour roux. It needs plenty of salt and pepper, about 1 ts of each. And what I learned is...do not puree! Follow the recipe on that. Purreing it made the spinach kinda in your face while before it was milder. But the butter/flour part can be omitted...use a TB of flour or so if you want to thicken it. What I dislike about it( probably my own fault for pureeing) was that it seemed very rich, even without the butter/flour. I'll try again with 2 cups milk, 3 cups water, and not pureeing. Update: Ok, if you were disappointed in this like I was, stop eating and FREEZE! The reheated leftovers are SO much better! The spinach and milk taste much more blended together. I loved this for breakfast with Triscuits( No affliation, I just love Triscuits) crushed in and a little cheese on top...I'm usually not a fan of topping soups with stuff, but it so works for this. Parmesan and Monterrey Jack were both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Every Wednesday I try a new recipe for soup. This is one of the really good recipes. My husband thought it great. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
A real keeper - simple to make and delicious - didn't and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
omg, this recipe is awesome!! my husband and I totally love it! Thanks for such an awesome recipe. I did do a couple of things different but didn't deviate from the recipe much. I just added more garlic then called for and added some parsley because we like parsley in our soups. Thanks so much for an awesome recipe. We will definitly make this recipe again and try different veggies!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Added about 1-3/4 cup of sharp cheddar cheese and 8 oz. lite cream cheese - fantastic! Also made with 32 oz. of broccoli instead of spinach. While cooking, I took out a couple of cups of soup and puréed in blender then added back to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States