Creamy Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This recipe was quick, easy, and tasted great! I threw in a handful of chopped mushrooms and signifcantly more spinach to increase the nutritional value. Next time, I will serve with crusty bread. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Excellent soup. I love spinach and this tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBRNINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Hmmm, interesting. Good for something new. I sautteed the onions and fresh garlic, then added the water and spinach( didn't bother to thaw), simmered, then added 2.5 cups whole milk, and pureed. I omitted the butter/flour roux. It needs plenty of salt and pepper, about 1 ts of each. And what I learned is...do not puree! Follow the recipe on that. Purreing it made the spinach kinda in your face while before it was milder. But the butter/flour part can be omitted...use a TB of flour or so if you want to thicken it. What I dislike about it( probably my own fault for pureeing) was that it seemed very rich, even without the butter/flour. I'll try again with 2 cups milk, 3 cups water, and not pureeing. Update: Ok, if you were disappointed in this like I was, stop eating and FREEZE! The reheated leftovers are SO much better! The spinach and milk taste much more blended together. I loved this for breakfast with Triscuits( No affliation, I just love Triscuits) crushed in and a little cheese on top...I'm usually not a fan of topping soups with stuff, but it so works for this. Parmesan and Monterrey Jack were both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Very good. Used fresh garlic, some fresh herbs, and some finely diced roasted red peppers to give it more flavor. Gets better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I cannot get any half and half where I live, so I used 7/8 cup milk and 7/8Tbs of butter per cup of half and half required by the recipe. I also pureed the soup. It was excellent! My 2 year old asked for 2nd's, 3rd's, and 4th's! My picky non-soup eating 7 year old said it was the best soup he has ever eaten. My husband and I both loved it. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This soup is awesome! I got ready to make it and realized I was out of spinach, but had frozen chopped broccoli. So I ended up using broccoli instead, that was the only change that I made. It was absolutely delicious!! I can't wait to actually try it with spinach! Oh, and I did sprinkle shredded swiss cheese on top, just because it's a personal preference for me with any cream soup. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi and Buddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Claremont, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
So easy and SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Delicious and easy to make! I'm going to try adding some bacon and maybe some cheese next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
i followed the recipe and it came out really good. Even my husband that doesn't like spinach liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States