Creamy Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
this was great! much better than i expected. I didn't have half and half on hand, so I had to use whole milk, but it was still delicious. I made my husband, who usually doesn't eat spinach, try some and even he said, "Yum!". he even said he wanted the leftovers for lunch the next day. i put some shredded cheese on top and i did saute the onions, but otherwise followed as is. definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is the best cream of soup recipe I have found. I did make some alterations based on what I had available plus I wanted to cut back on the amount of fat grams. I used 2 cups of chicken stock and instead of 3 cups of half and half, I used 1 can of evaporated milk, 1 cup of 2% and 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese. I also sauteed an onion and about 3-4 cloves of garlic before I put it in the pot. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Loved this soup! I, like a few others cut down on the heavy cream and substituted with more milk (used lactose free), and added mushrooms (big mushroom lover). I've shared with everyone I know and all have loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I have an abundance of swiss chard from the garden so I made this recipe with it. It was fantastic. I sauteed the onion and fresh garlic as others suggested and followed the recipe as is for the rest. I was so pleasantly surprised. Have lots of frozen swiss chard in the freezer so I will be making this again and again. Swiss chard also makes a great dip with artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNETENNANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I made this pretty much as written, except that I used fresh spinach instead of frozen - I only had 1/2 pound or so. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Both my husband and I loved this soup. I actually used 2% milk instead of half & half and it still turned out great. I took someone's advice about sauteing the onions first with butter. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eViE nOeL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Excellent taste--I kept wanting more. Instead of the half and half, I used one cup heavy cream and the rest skim milk (strange, I know, but it's what I had on hand). I omitted the bouillon and used chicken broth in place of the water. Next time, I think I'll try croutons on top--I was missing some texture. I'd also like to increase the amount of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I sauted fresh garlic and onion. I also used fresh spinach,cooked it and chopped it fine and used the water from it (which is full of vitamins) instead of water. Instead of half & half, I used half heavy cream and half milk. Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This is very good, although I used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder, and I sauteed the onions and garlic in a little bit of olive oil before adding the broth and spinach, etc. I also added a little bit of Lipton's Golden Onion soup mix to the broth because I was out of chicken boullion. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
A great soup! The whole family loved it, even after being skeptical about "spinach soup." I increased the amount of liquid slightly (I wanted to use up the full quart of half and half) and also the amount of onions (a half of white onion finely chopped) but I kept the amount of spinach the same. It was great! I left it simmering about 30 minutes and it was very creamy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States