Creamy Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made this today...it's delicious! I wanted a cream of spinach and chicken soup , so I used a can of cream of chicken soup in place of one of the cups of half and half. It is rich and delicious!! Next time will add some chunks of chicken for more texture. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this soup, with a few changes, and it was fabulous! I'm strict low-carb, so I omitted the flour and used heavy cream instead. The cream thickened up the soup nicely. I also sauteed onions and fresh garlic in butter before adding the broth and spinach. Finally, I used fresh baby spinach instead of frozen. I didn't bother to chop it up or cook it ahead of time. I just tossed it with the broth and let it cook for 10-12 minutes or so, stirring occasionally. I also garnished with a sprinkle of shredded Parmesan. This is a keeper and I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I love spinach, and with all the great reviews, I had to try this. And I was NOT disappointed! I - like many others - also used 1% milk in place of the half & half to cut down on fat and calories. I took the frozen spinach straight from the freezer and put it through my food processor with the grater attachment to get a finer spinach - and it was fantastic this way! It was a little thin, so I think next time (which may be as early as this week!) I will add a chopped potato and a grated carrot - as someone else suggested - to the spinach/stock mixture while it is simmering and then puree all that before I add the milk. Next time, to make this even more healthy, I think I will use low-sodium stock. I really enjoyed this - thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Great recipe! Even for a kitchen amateur like myself, it was really easy to make. I am vegetarian, so I skipped the chicken bouillon, but it still turned out delicious! I had half the amount of spinach, so I halved everything else too, and the proportions worked great. I only made this because I wanted to use up some spinach that was left over from another recipe. But, now I'll be making this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love this recipe! I add corn and a can of can of diced tomatoes to the spinache while cooking. Really dresses it up! MMMmMM Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I loved, loved this recipe. I've always wanted to try cream of spinach, so when I had all this spinach to use, I decided to make some. This recipe was fast and easy so I gave it a try and oh my gosh! is it good! I would not change a thing. I will definitely be making this one again. Thanks Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Good recipe, kids liked it! Used fresh spinach instead, and chicken broth, also added a little cheese to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I'm looking for healthy, so I made changes. Sauteed onion in butter, didn't use flour, used milk (less calories & fat), and chopped up fresh spinach. Very tasty. Next time I may use chicken broth, so there's not MSG from the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I liked this. It was fast, easy and delicious. I sauteed the onions as another reviewer suggested. I added ginger and cayanne (yum!) and I used milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2 as that is what I had. Will be making this again....*smile*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States