Creamy Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is the best soup I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I just had spinach soup at my husbands work and was craving it, so I decided to try making it. This was wonderful. I did saute the onion and fresh garlic first. And as I didnt have any half and half substituted one can of evaporated milk and fat free milk. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Tasty soup. I will cut way down on the butter next time. We thought it had a strong "buttery" flavor. I would like to try the base with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I make this soup all the time. It is a huge hit with my 4 year old daughter, and all my friends. I saute an onion in butter and olive oil. (I sometimes add 4-6 oz. sliced mushrooms). Then I add chicken stock and the spinach. Then I follow the rest of the recipe as written. I like pepper, so I add a bunch to mine, but leave it out of the kids' version. I like to serve it with homemade biscuits to dip into the soup. Seriously... our favorite soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
WOW, awesome and perfect as is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBERLYNNE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I've used this method with all kinds of vegetables (spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, etc.) It always makes an easy, creamy, soup! I use lowfat milk thickened with flour instead of the half and half to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Directions were easy to follow and complete. Ingredients basically on hand. This is a good soup, but for my tastes, it is not a favorite. I will make it again, I just wasn't overly thrilled. PS. I did follow the recipe as written, unlike foodlover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This recipe was quick, easy, and tasted great! I threw in a handful of chopped mushrooms and signifcantly more spinach to increase the nutritional value. Next time, I will serve with crusty bread. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Excellent soup. I love spinach and this tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBRNINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Hmmm, interesting. Good for something new. I sautteed the onions and fresh garlic, then added the water and spinach( didn't bother to thaw), simmered, then added 2.5 cups whole milk, and pureed. I omitted the butter/flour roux. It needs plenty of salt and pepper, about 1 ts of each. And what I learned is...do not puree! Follow the recipe on that. Purreing it made the spinach kinda in your face while before it was milder. But the butter/flour part can be omitted...use a TB of flour or so if you want to thicken it. What I dislike about it( probably my own fault for pureeing) was that it seemed very rich, even without the butter/flour. I'll try again with 2 cups milk, 3 cups water, and not pureeing. Update: Ok, if you were disappointed in this like I was, stop eating and FREEZE! The reheated leftovers are SO much better! The spinach and milk taste much more blended together. I loved this for breakfast with Triscuits( No affliation, I just love Triscuits) crushed in and a little cheese on top...I'm usually not a fan of topping soups with stuff, but it so works for this. Parmesan and Monterrey Jack were both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States