Creamy Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Yum! Modifications: Used vegetable broth instead of water. Used 2 cups of half and half and 1 cup skim milk. Added shredded jalapeno jack cheese for an even creamier texture and more pop. (The cheese really brought all the ingredients together). Also added some Worchestershire which rounded out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSA650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I changed it up quite a bit but thanks for giving me such a great head start. I'll surely be making this again, especially when the winter comes around. I used heavy whipping cream, added shredded carrots, a couple potatoes and curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Very good but too rich for my taste. Next time, I would like to substitute the 3 cups half and half for 2 cups half and half and 1 cup milk. Also, I made "Hot Dogs or Hamburger Buns" that I a few days prior that didn't turn out so well, I diced these hard buns up and added them to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is the best soup I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I just had spinach soup at my husbands work and was craving it, so I decided to try making it. This was wonderful. I did saute the onion and fresh garlic first. And as I didnt have any half and half substituted one can of evaporated milk and fat free milk. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Tasty soup. I will cut way down on the butter next time. We thought it had a strong "buttery" flavor. I would like to try the base with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I make this soup all the time. It is a huge hit with my 4 year old daughter, and all my friends. I saute an onion in butter and olive oil. (I sometimes add 4-6 oz. sliced mushrooms). Then I add chicken stock and the spinach. Then I follow the rest of the recipe as written. I like pepper, so I add a bunch to mine, but leave it out of the kids' version. I like to serve it with homemade biscuits to dip into the soup. Seriously... our favorite soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
WOW, awesome and perfect as is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBERLYNNE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I've used this method with all kinds of vegetables (spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, etc.) It always makes an easy, creamy, soup! I use lowfat milk thickened with flour instead of the half and half to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Directions were easy to follow and complete. Ingredients basically on hand. This is a good soup, but for my tastes, it is not a favorite. I will make it again, I just wasn't overly thrilled. PS. I did follow the recipe as written, unlike foodlover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States