Creamy Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Added about 1-3/4 cup of sharp cheddar cheese and 8 oz. lite cream cheese - fantastic! Also made with 32 oz. of broccoli instead of spinach. While cooking, I took out a couple of cups of soup and puréed in blender then added back to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made this soup today, it is very delicious has a nice creamy taste. I made some changes I use fat free milk instead of the half and half to cut down on the the fats. Also, I did not have frozen spinach but I had fresh spinach so I chop it very good and it was OK to cook with. Other than that I fix this recipe as written. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linjoyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I have made this soup lots of times- Great! and believe me, I know a good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My husband said it was perfect the way it was but I think it was little rich. I deviated from the recipe as follows: I sauteed 1 cup of onion with about 3 large cloves of garlic in olive oil then added the frozen spinach, water, and a few chicken bullion cubes. After that cooked for a while I added the entire carton of half n half which was 4 cups, and some pepper. I melted some butter and added flour to it and whisked, then added it to the rest of the soup. Brought that to a boil and served a few minutes later. Oh and I added about 1 more cup of water to make up for the extra cream. Pretty good! I want to try fresh spinach next time. I also think it might be good with some diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeyburn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Delish!! I used cream instead of half-and-half and forgot to thaw the spinach ahead of time. My husband thought it was a bit watery (aka, thin) but that could have been b/c I didn't thaw the spinach. Either way, it's rich and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I used bouillon cubes, and some 1%milk because I didn't have enough half and half. It came out delicious! I sprinkled some parmesan cheese on the top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This soup is WONDERFUL. Quick and simple to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very delicious. Used real garlic instead of garlic powder (1/2 tsp.) and used a mixture of fat free half & half and 2% milk to make up the 3 cups. My spinach was a bit wilty, this was a great way to use it up! I did add a bit of nutmeg and ground red pepper to season it, as that's how I'm most familiar with this dish. Thanks, we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I used fresh spinach and fat free half and half. WOW! This is so good and beyond nutritious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very good! It made a lot of soup, though. Next time, I'd probably cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States