Creamy Spiced Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Try this coleslaw! Five stars for being fast, easy and delicious. It has a hearty taste that isn’t too sweet. I was out of cider vinegar and used red wine vinegar instead. I made it to go with Carolina style pulled pork. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Busch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Great recipe. Ditto Nicky's review: fast, easy, delicious. I made one little change out of fear that the slaw would be too sweet. I cut the sugar to 2 teaspoons instead of 2 Tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I usually make the recipes as I see it, and then if it need variations, I'll add after my first try. I was a little hesitant about this recipe (with all the sugar and cider vinegar), but when I made it, it was the best I've ever tasted. It seemed like it needed a little milk to make more dressing... BUT I didn't and after covering it and keeping in the fridge for a few hours - the dressing multiplies by itself (salt draws out the natural moisture from the coleslaw mix itself). It was perfect and everyone in my family gobbled up faster than you could blink an eye (including my picky husband who HATES slaw!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Made this tonight for dinner. Thought it was great, hubby like it also and he's not a real coleslaw fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
i added shredded radish and carrot and used chopped cabbage instead of the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I'm not usually a coleslaw fan, but this is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Good tasting easy recipe. The only thing I had to buy was the cabbage. Everyone in family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Perfect! I cut down on the pepper (personal preference)and used Miracle Whip Lite, otherwise made exactly as stated. Just like Mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I substituted reduced fat mayo but otherwise followed the recipe. It turned out great! Be forewarned though, this coleslaw is not as sweet as other coleslaws. I served it with barbecue, and my husband and I felt like the coleslaw was not sweet enough to serve with spicy barbecue. I think it would go better with fish, fried chicken, or pork chops. It is still an excellent recipe though, and I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This coleslaw is excellent! I used celery salt instead of celery seeds & added a tablespoon of mustard. Just the right amount of tang & sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States