Creamy Spiced Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
So good!I used about 3/4 cup of mayo. That was the only difference I made. DH is a big coleslaw fan and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Quick, easy, and delicious! I would recommend using more cabbage though - I used this recipe for a whole, large head of cabbage and it was too much dressing. I'm sure it's even more overwhelming when just using a 16 oz. bag of slaw mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I made this quickly one morning because I planned on having ribs for dinner that night and had some leftover cabbage to use. I didn't have celery seed or cider vinegar so used celery salt and red wine vinegar instead and it was delicious! Very quick and simple to make and so tasty. My husband loved it with the BBQ ribs - great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Really good Cole slaw, not too sweet. I think it's best to make an hour ahead to let the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is a GREAT recipe and as the author states, all the flavors compliment each other. I don't know if the original author actually uses a 16 oz bag of coleslaw mix or if she just assumed it is 16 oz but my bag was 14 oz. I added just a pinch less on all ingredients including mayonnaise to make up the difference. This will always be my go to recipe for slaw from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Vancleave, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This turned out really well. The only change I made was to use 2/3 c mayo, 1/3 c sour cream, per the other reviewers recommendations. However, the spice mixture is perfect. I went a little shy on the sugar at first because I do not like sweet cole slaw. I made this the night before the party, and gave it a taste test the next morning, and I wound up adding in the specified amount because it needed the balance. I also think the celery seed is a fantastic flavor, and really makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I read the reviews and reduced the amount of mayo. to 1/2 cup which was the perfect amount. This slaw is creamy and tangy and very good. I might increase the amount of vinegar next time to give it even more tang. Also, I enjoyed the addition of the celery seed and think a little more of this will give it even more zing. Overall, it was very good and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I also cut the mayo in half and after a couple of hours in the refrigerator, tried it out and it was perfect. This will be my number one slaw receipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tchalk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Delicious! This will be my new go to regular coleslaw recipe and I'll be making it often as cabbage is so nutritious. I still love the "Original Blue Cheese Coleslaw" from this site, but it is way to high in fat for other than special occasions. Loved how fast and easy this one was to prepare - had it ready in five minutes! The mix of spices is excellent, it's lower in calories than many recipes, plus I always have the dressing ingredients on hand. As others suggested I did cut the mayo to 1/3 cup and used about 1/8 cup low-fat sour cream. I was out of apple cider vinegar so used rice vinegar which wasn't quite tart enough. I also cut the sugar in half as we don't like sweet coleslaw. I may try adding some green onions and sliced celery next time just to get more veggies included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Delicious! The only change I made was to use 1/4 tsp of celery salt in place of the 1/2 tsp of the celery seed because that's what I had and I didn't want it to be too salty...otherwise I stuck to the recipe and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States