Creamy Spiced Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I had a bunch of cabbage and carrots so started looking around for coleslaw recipes. Here's my advice...this is a great base, but you can use what you have on hand and it'll probably still turn out great! I shredded almost a whole head of cabbage and a couple carrots. Used miracle whip in place of mayo (hate the taste), white vinegar, a half teaspoon of celery salt instead of celery seed and salt, and added a dollop of creamy horseradish (saw it in a few other recipes, liked the idea). Amazing! Can't wait for it to sit and meld together! Btw, I usually hate when people rate a recipe that they changed, but I just wanted to help the people like me trying to use up stuff in the fridge but getting frustrated at not having the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie Skinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
1st time making coleslaw from scratch. This is the best recipe ever & super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
very good, will use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Just made this for a BBQ I'm having on Saturday night, it's unbelievable! I love everything about it. I will be making this again and again. The flavors are fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
My daughter and I loved it and neither of us usually cares much for cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Delicious!!! I didn't have the onion powder or celery seed, so I added a touch of dijon mustard for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Very good! I like my coleslaw a bit drier, so I cut the sauce in half. Thought that might have been a mistake, but after about 30 minutes in the fridge, it was perfectly creamy without being goopy. Not too tangy, not too mayonnaisey - just right! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
So good!I used about 3/4 cup of mayo. That was the only difference I made. DH is a big coleslaw fan and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Quick, easy, and delicious! I would recommend using more cabbage though - I used this recipe for a whole, large head of cabbage and it was too much dressing. I'm sure it's even more overwhelming when just using a 16 oz. bag of slaw mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I made this quickly one morning because I planned on having ribs for dinner that night and had some leftover cabbage to use. I didn't have celery seed or cider vinegar so used celery salt and red wine vinegar instead and it was delicious! Very quick and simple to make and so tasty. My husband loved it with the BBQ ribs - great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States