Creamy Spiced Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe was fabulous. Normally I don't like coleslaw, so when the fiance requested it to go along with some pulled pork sandwiches he was bringing to the church, I thought 'fabulous, now I have to hunt down a recipe'. Then, he went on to say that he liked his coleslaw sweet, not vinegar-y. Men are so picky! Lol ;) I started out this recipe by only adding 1/2 cup of mayo, then slowing adding spoonfuls until it was the perfect consistency. As this being my first time making coleslaw, I didn't realize how much it liquidizes while refrigerating (will probably keep it closer to 1/2 cup next time). I also didn't put any onion powder or celery seed (didn't have any on hand), and minimized the vinegar to 1 tbsp. Everybody loved it and said that it was the best coleslaw they had ever had! I was sending this recipe to quite a few people afterwards :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Thoreson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great flavor and creamy texture. The whole family loved it. Not watery like most coleslaw recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmaronic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
A very nice spiced coleslaw that isn't too sweet as many of them can be. We enjoyed this one very much. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
So delicious! I used another member's suggestion of ¼c sour cream ¾c mayo. I only had red wine vinegar, so I used that. This is my new coleslaw recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I added half a Vidalia onion, chopped. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Absolutely perfect! This is my ideal creamy coleslaw. I followed the recommendations of 3/4 cup mayo and 1/4 cup sour cream. No celery seed in my cupboards, so I added a generous dash of celery salt. Since I shredded my own cabbage and veggies, I gradually mixed in scoops of the sauce. I have about 1/4 cup left over. It only has too much sauce if you add too much! Will save the excess for a veggie dip! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I loved this recipe and so did my family, they gobbled it all up! I didn't have celery seed so I used celery salt and followed MrsHappyHomemaker and used 1/4 sour cream and 3/4 mayo! Next time I may add some red pepper flakes for a little spicy twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
So delicious...I cant even eat anyone else's but mine !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is similar to what my mom used to make. The only differences are: instead of sugar I use an 8 oz can of crushed pineapple and 3/4 cup of lite mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rtbrgy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Best coleslaw ever. I used red wine viniger and celery salt....fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States