Creamy Spiced Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Very good coleslaw recipe! I used 3/4 cup of mayo & 1/4 cup of sour cream. I have always found that to be the secret of a good coleslaw. I did not have any celery seed, so I used celery salt. I also added a good sprinkling of Janes Crazy Salt. Extremely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
The BEST and EASIEST slaw dressing I have found! I do substitute Splenda for the sugar which works great! Also, I'm not one to have celery seed on hand, so instead I use 1/4 tsp. celery salt and omit the 1/2 tsp of regular salt. Very tasty. I prefer homemade dressing to store bought as then I know what is in it AND what is not and.... if you have all the ingredients on hand anyway, why not take 3 minutes to make your own? Thanks for sharing this recipe with us. :) *shred your own fresh cabbage for a really fresh slaw and save some money too*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Try this coleslaw! Five stars for being fast, easy and delicious. It has a hearty taste that isn’t too sweet. I was out of cider vinegar and used red wine vinegar instead. I made it to go with Carolina style pulled pork. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Busch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is the best cole slaw recipe I have tried to date, better than my Mom's (sorry Mom). It's the recipe I'll be using in the future. It had a lot of flavor! I had a bit of trouble with the measurements though because the bag of shredded cabbage I had was only 10 oz., so I tried to err on the side of not adding enough (and if I felt like it needed something I could definitely add it later). Some people complained that it was too creamy, I actually added a bit more mayo than called for. However I only used half as much vinegar as called for and I'm glad - it was plenty tangy with only half the vinegar. To account for personal taste, I would suggest starting with 1/2 the mayo and half the vinegar...let it sit in the fridge for an hour or so, then test it out. You can easily add more mayo to make it creamier or another tbsp of vinegar to twang it up a bit later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twt75nc

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This coleslaw is excellent! I used celery salt instead of celery seeds & added a tablespoon of mustard. Just the right amount of tang & sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very good flavor, but I found it had too much dressing for my taste. Next time I'll just add more cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very Yummy! I made this for my daughter's 18th birthday party and I actually had an empty bowl. That's never happened with coleslaw. Only thing I changed was the mayo. I used Miracle Whip and only 1/2cup. Personally I think you'll be sorry if you use what the recipe calls for. Waaaaay too much mayo and I might even use a little less than 1/2cup next time. Plenty of dressing when halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAVENDERANGEL69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Makes a ton of coleslaw and is way better than the stuff you buy at the deli counter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
As with several other recipes, I used this as a guide and mixed the ingredients to my taste. Omited the garlic and onion powders, and added everything else. Put it over some shredded cabbage and WOW, was it good. I'm not a fan of coleslaw and I even had trouble staying out of it. Chilling for an hour helps the vinegar and sugar to mingle into a very nice combination that isn't too sharp. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This has become my go to coleslaw recipe. Everyone loves it. Perfect on top of BBQ pulled pork sandwiches, but great anytime you want coleslaw. I've shared the recipe with many, everyone thinks it is perfect. Very quick and easy too. You don't need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States