Creamy Spiced Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I read the reviews and reduced the amount of mayo. to 1/2 cup which was the perfect amount. This slaw is creamy and tangy and very good. I might increase the amount of vinegar next time to give it even more tang. Also, I enjoyed the addition of the celery seed and think a little more of this will give it even more zing. Overall, it was very good and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I also cut the mayo in half and after a couple of hours in the refrigerator, tried it out and it was perfect. This will be my number one slaw receipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Chalk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Delicious! This will be my new go to regular coleslaw recipe and I'll be making it often as cabbage is so nutritious. I still love the "Original Blue Cheese Coleslaw" from this site, but it is way to high in fat for other than special occasions. Loved how fast and easy this one was to prepare - had it ready in five minutes! The mix of spices is excellent, it's lower in calories than many recipes, plus I always have the dressing ingredients on hand. As others suggested I did cut the mayo to 1/3 cup and used about 1/8 cup low-fat sour cream. I was out of apple cider vinegar so used rice vinegar which wasn't quite tart enough. I also cut the sugar in half as we don't like sweet coleslaw. I may try adding some green onions and sliced celery next time just to get more veggies included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Delicious! The only change I made was to use 1/4 tsp of celery salt in place of the 1/2 tsp of the celery seed because that's what I had and I didn't want it to be too salty...otherwise I stuck to the recipe and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Outstanding coleslaw! Changed the mayo to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup sour cream. Spices are perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janberet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I was tired of my dad bringing KFC slaw to all of our parties even though it tastes pretty good. My dad loved it and so did my boyfriend who normally doesn't like slaw. This is the best cole slaw I've ever had, but I think I did substitute sour cream for a portion of the mayo as someone else had suggested. I'm making this again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My husband hates coleslaw but had thirds with this sauce mixed with broccoli slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I didn't have celery seed, but other than that it's simple and fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Basic recipe but very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is my absolute favorite slaw recipe. The only thing I have ever done differently is to add about a teaspoon and a half of yellow mustard to the dressing and sub 1/2 tsp of celery salt for the celery seed and salt. Always perfect! Thank you Wilemon for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States