Creamy Spiced Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Really good coleslaw. Used this recipe for a tailgate party - it disappeared! Have been asked to make it for a large family reunion this summer. The celery seed and spices make it way better than the store-bought stuff, and no one know how little work it is. They all think I spend ages in the kitchen. I adjust the amount of dressing to how soon I'll serve it. I mix it up and add about half, and add more dressing later if necessary. Quick and easy for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I decided to shred my own Veggies but skip the celery, in the end, it was great!! Thank You For the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delish. I use a whole head of purple cabbage in place of the packaged slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Really good! I used a lot more cabbage than the recipe called for (because I had it and needed to use it up) but I don't like an overly heavy dressing so it worked well. Next time I may add white vinegar to make it a bit more tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The flavor was very good, but a bit "mayonnaisey". I added cayenne pepper, sesame seeds, cilantro and some extra cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Perfect! One of my go-to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I made this tonight. (I did not use celery seeds, garlic or onion powders) I added 2 TBS Mirin Sweet Cooking Rice Wine. And I used Dukes May. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Excellent base recipe but I made some changes. I used 3/4 cup mayo and 1/4 cup sour cream and substituted 1/2 teaspoon celery salt for the salt and celery seed. I omitted the onion powder and garlic powder as a matter of personal preference. I added 1 teaspoon of cumin for extra flavor. I only used 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar because I didn't want it to be overly tangy or the dressing to be runny and 1 tablespoon of sugar because I didn't want it to be overly sweet. It turned out very good and got even better after I let it stand for a couple of hours (in the fridge of course). The dressing has a nearly perfect texture. I'm taking it to a Labor Day cookout this evening and I am anxious to let my friends and family try it. Very good and I will definitely make it again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I had a bunch of cabbage and carrots so started looking around for coleslaw recipes. Here's my advice...this is a great base, but you can use what you have on hand and it'll probably still turn out great! I shredded almost a whole head of cabbage and a couple carrots. Used miracle whip in place of mayo (hate the taste), white vinegar, a half teaspoon of celery salt instead of celery seed and salt, and added a dollop of creamy horseradish (saw it in a few other recipes, liked the idea). Amazing! Can't wait for it to sit and meld together! Btw, I usually hate when people rate a recipe that they changed, but I just wanted to help the people like me trying to use up stuff in the fridge but getting frustrated at not having the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie Skinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
1st time making coleslaw from scratch. This is the best recipe ever & super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States