Creamy Spiced Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I don't even like coleslaw, but this is so good! I like to add some finely-minced green onion and I use a 1/2 teaspoon of celery salt in place of the salt and celery seed. I also don't see the need to chill it for two hours; it tastes good right away. Other than that, I just follow the recipe. It's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wickes, Arkansas, USA
Living In: South Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is the best cole slaw recipe I have tried to date, better than my Mom's (sorry Mom). It's the recipe I'll be using in the future. It had a lot of flavor! I had a bit of trouble with the measurements though because the bag of shredded cabbage I had was only 10 oz., so I tried to err on the side of not adding enough (and if I felt like it needed something I could definitely add it later). Some people complained that it was too creamy, I actually added a bit more mayo than called for. However I only used half as much vinegar as called for and I'm glad - it was plenty tangy with only half the vinegar. To account for personal taste, I would suggest starting with 1/2 the mayo and half the vinegar...let it sit in the fridge for an hour or so, then test it out. You can easily add more mayo to make it creamier or another tbsp of vinegar to twang it up a bit later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twt75nc

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Made exactly as described and it is a very good coleslaw. I did also try other's ideas and used half mayo and half sour cream and added the cumin and cayenne to give it a kick. Great both ways and the latter has a nice southwest flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Greenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
My hubby asked ne to make it again when he ate it. I didn't have any cider vinegar, so I used rice vinegar & red wine vinegar instead. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randallstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This has become my go to coleslaw recipe. Everyone loves it. Perfect on top of BBQ pulled pork sandwiches, but great anytime you want coleslaw. I've shared the recipe with many, everyone thinks it is perfect. Very quick and easy too. You don't need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Yummers! I used one small head of cabbage which I salted and rested in a strainer to shed out some the moisture. Rinsed the cabbage and spun it through the salad spinner. Used two carrots (shredded) and one small onion (finely minced), omitted the salt and onion powder. This was the best cole slaw I have ever made. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Fast, easy, good taste. Doesn't get all watery. Thanks Wilemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Best coleslaw I ever had. I told everyone about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Very good. I loved the celery seed in the dressing. I used my food processor to shred some cabbage, a carrot, and some leftover broccoli stalks. I served this with a pulled pork tamale casserole. My only recommendation would be to salt the veggies to draw out water for 30 mins before dressing it so it doesn't get runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is a very tasty coleslaw. Will be making this again and again. Better than most coleslaws you get in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States