Creamy Smoked Salmon Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I thought this was a very tasty dish - light but filling. I used whole wheat penne to make it even healthier and used Smart Balance in place of butter. Did have to add a bit more skim milk (I use the skim milk plus - tastes like 2% but no fat) at the end. Very tasty, I do agree with other reviews this is nothing like a carbonara though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I've been making this exact thing for years. For those who were a bit disappointed, remember 2 things: the quality of the smoked salmon is key and you really have to cook the roux well, stirring. I use farfalle--bow ties and a little wine. A bit of chicken broth for extra flavor if I have some leftover but it is good without it too. Or a little clam juice. play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I liked this recipe very much, and I will be adding it to my collection. I don't consider it to be anything like pasta carbonara but it is definitely a more upscale approach to replacing a salmon casserole. I used the websites scaling ability to downscale the recipe to just 4 portions. This took the butter down to 3 tablespoons which was very workable. The amounts of all the rest of the ingredients were workable except for garlic powder. I reduced it from 1 teaspoon to just a light dusting and it was more than enough for the dish. I sneaked in a 1/2 teaspoon of salt, too, because it just didn't taste right without it. To the reviewer who felt that skim milk was a compromise, I assure you it was not. And, as for the flour taste, it is necessary to cook a roux for a few minutes (while stirring like crazy so as not to brown it) to mitigate the floury taste. All in all, it was excellent. What a great way to get a serving (or two) or omega-rich salmon in your diet. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made some alterations to this recipe which made it a 5/5. I used 2 cloves of garlic (added with the onion) instead of the powder, approximately 1 cup of romano cheese and I omitted the peas and mushrooms. Instead, I blanched 2 handfuls of asparagus and steamed 2 small zucchinis. I also added 1 tablespoon of curry powder when adding the flour as well as approximately 1 teaspoon of fresh ground pepper. We really enjoyed this and it will go into our regular recipe repitoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I'm not sure three stars is fair. The recipe isn't bad, just ordinary. I used what I had in the refrigerator - less butter, real garlic, no mushrooms and whole milk. If anything those changes should have made it better. But it still seemed more like tuna casserole than a good pasta dish. And, although I really like tuna casserole, that is not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I have used this recipe many times, modified to my personal taste. I use shallot instead of onion for a sweeter taste, semi skimmed milk instead of skimmed to give a richer taste, parmesan instead of romano cheese (more likely to have this in the fridge) and fresh mushroom instead of canned, no more hassle but more refined. Looks like I've changed a lot but it is only slight tweeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falkirk, Stirlingshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Great receipe! Only thing I changed was skim milk to low fat milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very quick recipe. You can add some parsley flakes and black pepper. And ever use fresh mushrooms and garlic. Just saute them with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Peter

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Excellent. In trying to recreate a recipe from a local restaurant, I omitted the mushrooms and added proscuitto. I also thought w/ skim milk and only 2T flour, the sauce might be runny. So, I added a little more flour and used evap skim milk. Guess what? My sauce was too thick. :) Next time I'll follow the recipe exactly. I'm not sure that you really need the parmesan cheese though..... Can't wait to have the leftovers! (even my 5 year old took some to school for lunch today!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
New family fav! My 6yr old and hubby went for seconds!! I had bought several fresh-made flavors of smoked salmon from a fish market the other day. Wasn't sure what I was going to do with it, so I surfed in here and found this recipe. Instead of the "lighter" version, I had heavy cream on hand that needed to be used up. Also I used minced garlic instead of powder... and I thought I had frozen peas on hand, but didn't - which was a bummer! However, I did have fresh spinach and to add color contrast, I chopped that up to toss in it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILREDCV

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States