Creamy Smoked Salmon Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This tasted okay, but probably not one I will make again. For all the more (less) taste it had, you could probably save a lot of time and substitute a jar of pre-made alfredo sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Good way to use up some leftover salmon we smoked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I might have portioned it wrong, but I felt like I needed more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I had some cream leftover, so instead of 2 cups of skim milk, I used 2/3 cups of cream and 1-1/3 cups of skim milk. I didn't have romano cheese, so I used parmesan petals. I used one whole onion, chopped up 2 cloves of garlic and decreased the amount or garlic powder. I also used 1-3/4 cups of peas and omitted the mushrooms. Overall it was good, but I think there's still some room for improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Excellent! For the sauce I used about 4 tbsp butter, 1 1/2 cups whole milk, and a little under a cup of Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I used all the amounts in the recipe, but had about 1/2 cup leftover heavy cream that I added to the skim milk. I really let the white sauce cook down before I added the cheese. I threw the frozen peas in with the pasta just before it was done(I used penne). My husband thought it was close to restaurant quality. Will definately keep in my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I've made this twice, the first time I essentially followed the receipe minus the mushrooms. I did find it a bit bland. This is possibly because the salmon I used wasn't smoked so there wasn't enough salt. The second time I made this I altered the recipe a bit. I used frozen corn (didn't have peas). I also added some bacon bits + salt/pepper. For Cheese I used a mix of monterey Jack, cheddar and Mozz. I will say the second time around I liked the meal quite a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was alright but not amazing. As other reviewers suggested, I used crushed garlic instead of powder. I didn't have any Romano cheese so I used a bit of cheddar and then we sprinkled powdered Parm on top. Still this could have probably used some cream. Although on the up side, the skim milk made it a lot healthier and it wasn't a terrible dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I thought this was a very tasty dish - light but filling. I used whole wheat penne to make it even healthier and used Smart Balance in place of butter. Did have to add a bit more skim milk (I use the skim milk plus - tastes like 2% but no fat) at the end. Very tasty, I do agree with other reviews this is nothing like a carbonara though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I've been making this exact thing for years. For those who were a bit disappointed, remember 2 things: the quality of the smoked salmon is key and you really have to cook the roux well, stirring. I use farfalle--bow ties and a little wine. A bit of chicken broth for extra flavor if I have some leftover but it is good without it too. Or a little clam juice. play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States