Creamy Smoked Salmon Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I might have portioned it wrong, but I felt like I needed more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I had some cream leftover, so instead of 2 cups of skim milk, I used 2/3 cups of cream and 1-1/3 cups of skim milk. I didn't have romano cheese, so I used parmesan petals. I used one whole onion, chopped up 2 cloves of garlic and decreased the amount or garlic powder. I also used 1-3/4 cups of peas and omitted the mushrooms. Overall it was good, but I think there's still some room for improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Excellent! For the sauce I used about 4 tbsp butter, 1 1/2 cups whole milk, and a little under a cup of Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I used all the amounts in the recipe, but had about 1/2 cup leftover heavy cream that I added to the skim milk. I really let the white sauce cook down before I added the cheese. I threw the frozen peas in with the pasta just before it was done(I used penne). My husband thought it was close to restaurant quality. Will definately keep in my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I've made this twice, the first time I essentially followed the receipe minus the mushrooms. I did find it a bit bland. This is possibly because the salmon I used wasn't smoked so there wasn't enough salt. The second time I made this I altered the recipe a bit. I used frozen corn (didn't have peas). I also added some bacon bits + salt/pepper. For Cheese I used a mix of monterey Jack, cheddar and Mozz. I will say the second time around I liked the meal quite a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was alright but not amazing. As other reviewers suggested, I used crushed garlic instead of powder. I didn't have any Romano cheese so I used a bit of cheddar and then we sprinkled powdered Parm on top. Still this could have probably used some cream. Although on the up side, the skim milk made it a lot healthier and it wasn't a terrible dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I thought this was a very tasty dish - light but filling. I used whole wheat penne to make it even healthier and used Smart Balance in place of butter. Did have to add a bit more skim milk (I use the skim milk plus - tastes like 2% but no fat) at the end. Very tasty, I do agree with other reviews this is nothing like a carbonara though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I've been making this exact thing for years. For those who were a bit disappointed, remember 2 things: the quality of the smoked salmon is key and you really have to cook the roux well, stirring. I use farfalle--bow ties and a little wine. A bit of chicken broth for extra flavor if I have some leftover but it is good without it too. Or a little clam juice. play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I liked this recipe very much, and I will be adding it to my collection. I don't consider it to be anything like pasta carbonara but it is definitely a more upscale approach to replacing a salmon casserole. I used the websites scaling ability to downscale the recipe to just 4 portions. This took the butter down to 3 tablespoons which was very workable. The amounts of all the rest of the ingredients were workable except for garlic powder. I reduced it from 1 teaspoon to just a light dusting and it was more than enough for the dish. I sneaked in a 1/2 teaspoon of salt, too, because it just didn't taste right without it. To the reviewer who felt that skim milk was a compromise, I assure you it was not. And, as for the flour taste, it is necessary to cook a roux for a few minutes (while stirring like crazy so as not to brown it) to mitigate the floury taste. All in all, it was excellent. What a great way to get a serving (or two) or omega-rich salmon in your diet. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made some alterations to this recipe which made it a 5/5. I used 2 cloves of garlic (added with the onion) instead of the powder, approximately 1 cup of romano cheese and I omitted the peas and mushrooms. Instead, I blanched 2 handfuls of asparagus and steamed 2 small zucchinis. I also added 1 tablespoon of curry powder when adding the flour as well as approximately 1 teaspoon of fresh ground pepper. We really enjoyed this and it will go into our regular recipe repitoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States