Creamy Smoked Salmon Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
While I appreciate the submitter's attempts to make the cream sauce lighter by using skim milk and thickening with flour, I don't think it achieved the same effect as the real stuff. Hubby couldn't eat more than a couple bites. I thought the sauce's taste and texture was a bit too floury. Light cream would probably have been better suited for this dish. It also needed fresh cracked pepper and minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I also only used half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe ! It was delicious, I did change it somewaht, I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I grilled the salmon and I added a little white wine and a few t. spoons of lemon juice. I could not stop telling all my friends how delicious it was. Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I LOVE this recipe!!! I alter it a tiny bit - I use less butter (about 4 tablespoons), 1% milk instead of skim, 1 cup of Romano cheese (I really love Romano cheese), and a whole bag of frozen peas ('cause they're good for you!). Oh, and I leave out mushrooms 'cause I don't like them. But this recipe is really great. I find it comes tastier if you use the moist smoked salmon instead of the dry smoked salmon. My boyfriend and I cook this every other week, we enjoy it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Great recipe and so quick to do! My wife, who is not a fan of “slap it all together” food, actually asked me how hard it was to do since she would like to make it again. The changes I made are very simple: reduced butter to 4 tablespoons, all fresh veggies, and could not help myself to up the calorie count by adding two crumbled pieces of bacon at the last step with the salmon (yumm!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
In response to the reviewer who used leftover grilled salmon-Grilled salmon will not work in this recipe-at least for me. Smoked salmon has an alltogether different flavor and texture that makes this recipe unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Well, how did I change THIS recipe? First of all, no onion! Then, I sauteed fresh mushrooms with the garlic & removed them from the pan before making a nice toasty roux. I used 2% milk and no cheese (we don't like cheese with most seafoods). Added some dill along with the peas, mushrooms & salmon. Very tasty and would definitely make again! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I love this recipe! I would change one thing, use cheese tortellini instead of penne pasta. I promise that you will love it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
This tasted like something you'd get in a restaurant. I added asparagas spears and my husband raved! The key is to get good quality salmon and not use something out of a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I found this recipe searching for something creative to do with smoked salmon and I sure was not disappointed! The only modifications I made were to make it a little healthier...I used way less butter (only like a tbsp) for flavor and 2 tbsp of EVOO, some fresh garlic, and fresh ground pepper. It was dinner and lunch for two day after...I didn't want to let any go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I'd give this one 3.5 stars if I could, but I just can't justify 4. I don't know why I didn't love this - I loved the idea of it, but when I made it, it was just missing something (besides the mushrooms I left out by choice, that is). Maybe I wanted it cheesier? I tried it and immediately added pepper, a little salt, and fresh garlic and it helped a little, but it still seemed to be lacking. I was excited to try this because it sounded so good, but I was disappointed. Somehow the sauce seemed to mute the smoky taste of the salmon that I really love and it did more resemble a fish casserole (blech, ok not that bad, but just not great). I might try this again, with a lot of changes. I'm sitting here confused, and with a bunch of leftovers wondering how I can make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States