Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very very good! I made it exactly as written. I do question the technique of "stirring until thickened" after adding the milk/flour. Perhaps she meant stir until blended? It's not going to actually thicken until heated, and being a crock pot, after adding 1 1/2 cups of something cold, it's not going to be heated for quite a while. Only thing I will do different next time is add the ham along with the potatoes n the beginning. My ham wasn't "left over" and hadn't been previously cooked (although I know all ham is sold 'precooked'), and I think my ham would have been more tender if it had cooked longer. But all in all, terrific recipe. Thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Just what your looking for in potato soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe was wonderful. This was my first time making any kind of potato soup, and I couldn't have been happier. I did double the recipe, and like someone before me, I ended up using the entire box of chicken stalk, two cups was just not enough. The other thing I did was I added some well cooked bacon to the soup. I will be making this again, for sure. It was super easy. Also, because I started late, I did this stove top to cut down the cook time, and it was still amazing. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Howard A. Ludwig
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This recipe is the reason I love this site. The ingredient list cleared out my fridge and provided a wonderful dinner. My wife likes spicy foods so I topped this savory soup with some fresh sliced jalapenos to add a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Great and easy recipe. I use bacon and chedder cheese in replace of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akeda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Archbold, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is the best potato soup ever. I added more potatoes and extra onion but the overall look and taste of this soup is wonderful. I served it with fresh biscuits. A hearty meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Doubled this for a pot luck....everyone loved it and family was happy I brought some home!! As always, followed recipe as written for this initial try. Was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I made mine on the stove and it was ready in less than an hour. Instead of ham I used bacon. I used whole milk and it was thick and creamy. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VKENNER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Super easy....and yummy! We added a little bacon and cheddar cheese....awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Easy and if you follow the directions given, it will blow you out of this world. Initially, I doubled the ingredients; ate half and froze the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States