Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
This is the second or third time I've made this soup now. Here's what I'm doing differently. I only use half of the recommended potatoes with all of the liquid plus an extra cup of milk. I skip the bacon (don't like bacon) and add lots and lots of extra cheese. You may add even more milk or chicken stock. Good flavour though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe turned out okay, but as in any slow cooker recipe I should have remembered to add the milk at the very end. I got curdled soup. Over all it tasted okay, just looked like cottage cheese. And I added more spices, like tabasco squeez'ins (the left over pulp from making tabaco sauce), to give it some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I loved this recipe. My husband thought it was a little "grainy" and thick. It was almost like cheesy mashed potatoes...but the flavor was delicious. I would definitely make it again, but factor in more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAO
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Fantastic soup! I didn't have any bacon, so I used the leftover Easter ham and added some green onions and dill spice to the other ingredients. I do agree on the liquid ratio, so I added enough milk to cover the potatoes. Perfect! Also, instead of dicing the potatoes, I thinly sliced them making this soup look like 'restaurant style'. I did not blend the potatoes with a stick blender as it was thick enough. Will definitely add to my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
You can play around with this recipe a lot. Firstly, I didn't measure the liquid. If I felt it was getting too thick, I just added more. Didn't use water or base; only chicken broth and fat free half and half. Hubby smoked a pork tenderloin, so I added that in lieu of the bacon. Sprinkled in more seasonings (garlic and onion powders, dry mustard and dried parsley) and used three leftover baked potatoes from Sunday dinner. I ran the potatoes thru the food processor before I began so I didn't need to puree. Lastly, I felt this needed more cheese than stated. In addition to the horseradish cheddar I used, I also threw in some parm. Didn't feel the need to use my slow cooker for this; worked well on top of the stove. This was a great place to start Kathy; just made it my own. Thanks so much as this turned out absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
We loved this soup, which is easy & fulfilled all our expectations of cheesy potatoe-y goodness. And I am an Idaho girl, so I love potatoes ! Don't skip the puree step. Recommend thick-cut, butcher bacon and a can of corn, too. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Great recipe and easy to make! The only thing I would do differently is add the cooked bacon the same time as the rest of the ingredients for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Tasted pretty good, but not good enough for all the time and effort that went into it. Didn't taste like I had anticipated it would. Not like the restaurants soup. Similiar, but no cigar! Had to add more milk, it was way too thick. And added a lot more cheese. It dirtied up every bowl and pan I had just to make it in the crockpot! Is not "quick and easy"! Not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I was trying to find a recipe to use up my "on-sale" potatoes. I love potato soup. I added all the dairy products an hour before serving and did not get curdled looking soup. While the flavor was good, I did not like the texture. My picky fiance wouldn't even go near it. Although I would like to try it again, it's a lot of work and probably will not. Thanks for sharing, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
There's a reason many are complaining about the "grainy" or "gooey" texture of this soup. NEVER use a blender or food processor to mash potatoes. There are starch packets inside the potato cells and the blender blades rip right through them, releasing the starch and this makes the potatoes into library paste. Mash the potatoes in this recipe by hand the old-fashioned way to your desired consistency and it will turn out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States