Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2003
My family and I loved this recipe...very delicious. Will make this anytime. Good flavor, good texture, easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This soup was great! I followed the advice of adding the milk at the end, and although quite a THICK soup, it was tasty. Just remember, although this soup cooks by itself for awhile, it is heavy on the prep at the beginning (chopping onions, celery, carrots and 5 POUNDS of of potatoes!) and some prep at the end (cooking bacon, blending a portion of the vegetable mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
This soup was DEEE-licious!!! A little thick, but that's not a big problem. My husband and I just thinned it a bit in our individual bowls with milk according to our personal pereference. I left the bacon out of the recipe, because I really didn't think it needed it ... and it didn't! It was perfect without any meat (except, of course, the chicken soup base). The cheddar cheese on top was the crowning finale ... that added a special ZIP! to the soup! Wonderful! This recipe was definitely a keeper! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy Kirchberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Fantastic soup! I didn't have any bacon, so I used the leftover Easter ham and added some green onions and dill spice to the other ingredients. I do agree on the liquid ratio, so I added enough milk to cover the potatoes. Perfect! Also, instead of dicing the potatoes, I thinly sliced them making this soup look like 'restaurant style'. I did not blend the potatoes with a stick blender as it was thick enough. Will definitely add to my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
What a wonderful and easy recipe. I made this on Christmas Eve for my family when they arrived, I got lots of great comments on this recipe and they even wanted the recipe which they have already made since. I served with homemade bread and salad. Thanks for a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe turned out okay, but as in any slow cooker recipe I should have remembered to add the milk at the very end. I got curdled soup. Over all it tasted okay, just looked like cottage cheese. And I added more spices, like tabasco squeez'ins (the left over pulp from making tabaco sauce), to give it some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
When I was mixing it all up, I didn't think I would like it, but it turned out to be very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I made this recipe today and we loved it! I did add extra water and milk and also substituted green peppers for the celery. It is sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Awesome soup! Lots of cutting, chopping - pretty time consuming, but totally worth it. I halved the recipe and it worked out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I loved this recipe. My husband thought it was a little "grainy" and thick. It was almost like cheesy mashed potatoes...but the flavor was delicious. I would definitely make it again, but factor in more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAO
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States