Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
We loved this soup, which is easy & fulfilled all our expectations of cheesy potatoe-y goodness. And I am an Idaho girl, so I love potatoes ! Don't skip the puree step. Recommend thick-cut, butcher bacon and a can of corn, too. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
You can play around with this recipe a lot. Firstly, I didn't measure the liquid. If I felt it was getting too thick, I just added more. Didn't use water or base; only chicken broth and fat free half and half. Hubby smoked a pork tenderloin, so I added that in lieu of the bacon. Sprinkled in more seasonings (garlic and onion powders, dry mustard and dried parsley) and used three leftover baked potatoes from Sunday dinner. I ran the potatoes thru the food processor before I began so I didn't need to puree. Lastly, I felt this needed more cheese than stated. In addition to the horseradish cheddar I used, I also threw in some parm. Didn't feel the need to use my slow cooker for this; worked well on top of the stove. This was a great place to start Kathy; just made it my own. Thanks so much as this turned out absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
this did not ahve musch flavor and was wayto thick for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I didn't like this. The flavor was bland and the bacon was good at first but then it became soggy and chewy as it sat in the soup. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is great soup! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This is the best recipe for potato cheese soup in the crock pot so far and we have tried a few. I do not turn my temp to high, because potatoes sometimes stick when it gets this thick. Great with sandwiches on cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
overall, i liked this recipe but wasn't sure in the process. the potatoes weren't getting done so i had to transfer the soup to the stove to get it done. i followed the suggestion of adding the milk later. the soup was thick but i liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Very bland, disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I had never made potato soup before, this was so easy and my family loved it.This is a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was very good! The flavor was wonderful and as others have said, it is thick enough without pureeing any of the soup. I pureed some of the soup and it was extremely thick the next day. Great snowy weather soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States