Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This soup was more preparation than I normally do. But I followed the recipe exactly (except instead of 2 whole carrots chopped I used 8-10 baby carrots and chopped them.) There wasn't a lot of flavor, besides the potatoes and carrots. My husband thought there should have been some ham in this. Or at least more bacon. At the end I added some garlic and herb seasoning and that improved the flavor. I'm giving it 4 stars because overall it is a good recipe that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Family loved this soup. Perfect for a cold, wet fall day. I did have to add considerable liquid to prevent it from being the consistency of mashed potatos. Was not a problem though, just eyeballed it at the end and it turned out wonderfully. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
We loved this. I made it assuming I would have leftovers during the week, but we ate it ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I agree with other reviewers that the soup as written ends up way to thick, but the flavors are spot on. I added more milk at the end to improve consistency and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Delicious! I've tried many Potato Cheese Soup recipes, and this one was one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I LOVE potato cheese soup and this was good. I added extra milk and water at the end...it was really thick. My kids LOVE it as well. I think I might take the suggestion of using less potatoes next time, but it was great! I added a little hot sauce and some lawry's seasoning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLIIZZZ07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This ended up being more like a fun mashed potato recipe then a "creamy soup." My husband and I ended up eating the rest as a "mashed potato" side dish with other meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was pretty darn good. I am more of a fan of chunked potatoes, but this wasn't bad. I didn't put in a food processor, just used a potato masher in the crock-pot and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Delicious comfort food. Ours turned out too thick, so we added extra milk to make it soup onsistency. It's more prep work than I usually think of for a crockpot meal, but it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
We loved this soup, which is easy & fulfilled all our expectations of cheesy potatoe-y goodness. And I am an Idaho girl, so I love potatoes ! Don't skip the puree step. Recommend thick-cut, butcher bacon and a can of corn, too. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States