Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by WorkAtHomeMomma
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Fantastic soup! I didn't have any bacon, so I used cubed ham. I do agree on the liquid ratio, so I added enough milk to cover the potatoes. Perfect! We ate it as it came out of the crockpot. No mashing/blending etc... Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Really good recipe. I took the advice to add more liquid and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was a big hit with the family. Here are my modifications 1)I didn't get it started in time to do it in the crockpot so I had to make it on the stove top. So to hurry the veggies along, I sauted the carrots and celery along with the onion. 2)Used chicken broth in place of water and bouillon 3)I had some cauliflower in the fridge that really needed to be used so I threw that in with the taters. Personally I thought that was a great addition. Everyone agreed we should make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
No one would eat this, had to throw it all away. No sure what went wrong but I won't attempt to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcie Numan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I wouldn't add any dairy or flour until the end and even then I found that melting 1T of corn starch in hot water did a much better job thickening the soup. The dairy will curdle otherwise and the flour doesn't mix well in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Don't do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I didn't think there was such thing as too much garlic.....but there was TOO much garlic! One TBSP of minced garlic is absolutely too much. I will make it again, but will probably leave out the garlic all together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephmenzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Nice concept, but rather bland. I would up the seasonings and be sure to add Garlic and more red pepper. A whole jalapeno would also be nice. (Dont cut it up, just pierce down the legnth 4 or 5 times and put in the pot whole so you can fish out later). I also wish the instrucitons had said to add the milk at the end, because mine curdled and look AWFUL. I dont htink my family would have eaten it, except I managed to salvage it by pureeing half and adding some instant potato flakes to tighten the whole thing up a bunch. Even before my salvage steps, it had a grainy consistency and wasnt particularly creamy feeling on the tongue. Over all disappointing. I'll try snother recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I didn't follow the recipe exactly and I think that is why my soup didn't turn out. The flavor was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARCIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I made this the other night. It was so good even my youngest(she's 2) ate it and asked for more. I did alter it a bit-2 cups of chicken stock and blended the whole crockpot and I will definately make it again. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States