Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good. Used 5 cups chicken stock, I don't use bullion cubes...Cooked on high for 4 hours then crockpot turned automatically to warm :) I used an immersion blender on the entire contents of slow cooker before adding the milk & cheese (3 cups of grated cheese please), this made a nice silky textured soup. I then added diced, cooked red potatoes w/skin on (about 5 small). It was only 20 min extra work to cut & boil them. I added 3 chopped green onions after adding the red potato and bacon. Oh, and it definitely needs more bacon!! I used 10 pieces. The next day for leftovers, I had to add a couple tablespoons chicken stock to each serving to thin it out. Probably not the most heart-healthy recipe but I will definitely make again-my way. Serve with a green salad to feel less guilty ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raine07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made it exactly as directed. It had great flavor, but mine turned into mash potatoes. (not glue though) It was too thick . I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beebs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Wonderful soup! Sauteed veggies in olive oil. Cooked the soup on the stovetop since I didn't have time to do it in the crockpot. Added 3 cans chicken broth and the chunked potatoes and cooked for 2 hours. Added 2 cans FF evaporated milk plus 1/2 cup skim milk to thin it out a bit. Added 1/4 cup chipotle cheddar and 1 cup sharp cheddar and cooked for another hour. It was absolutely wonderful. No bacon...didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
There's a reason many are complaining about the "grainy" or "gooey" texture of this soup. NEVER use a blender or food processor to mash potatoes. There are starch packets inside the potato cells and the blender blades rip right through them, releasing the starch and this makes the potatoes into library paste. Mash the potatoes in this recipe by hand the old-fashioned way to your desired consistency and it will turn out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I also found that the milk curdled. The flavors overall were good, but as someone said earlier, add the milk at the end so you do not get a lumpy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Great soup. Even though it was my first time making it, I made a few adjustments. I pureed all of it in the blender in small batches and put it back in. This made it really thick so I stirred in more milk (about a cup) and let it sit a while cooling from the crock pot. I also added extra sharp cheddar, green onions, and bacon to the top at the end. It was great! I only give it 4 stars because my husband said it was a little bland. Maybe some other spicce (besides salt) could improve it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is a great beginers recipe. I used chicken stock where water was listed. The additions of both more stock and cream was absolutely needed. I would not do this recipe on high( hello glue). This recipe screams skip the bacon add a butcher smoked ham hock. Took me 20 minutes before I went to work and ten minutes to finish(less with a smoked ham hock). Variation substute a leek for the onion. Other halve thought the same thing. I also cut all the quantites by 1/4 to get the serving size done to 4. Will absolutly do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I took this recipe and made it a little healthier/lighter. Just by looking at the recipe before I made it, four cups liquid would not be enough for five pounds of potatoes. I used organic red potatoes and instead of chicken soup base and plain water, I used organic chicken broth (about six cups). I didn't need the flour (I've had some experiance cooking potato soup--flour is not really needed as the potato starch thickens the soup well enough) so I cut back on the butter just a bit and sauteed the onion, carrots, celery and a mess of minced fresh garlic all together before adding it to the crockpot with the potatoes and broth. I did add a few more spices (dried chives, onion powder, garlic powder, Beau Monde seasoning). After the potatoes had cooked in the crockpot, I mushed them with my potato masher only slightly for a chunkier soup, then added the milk (I used fat free evaporated milk for a creamier texture--I didn't need the full cup). When this was all said and done, this is a fair soup that was bendable to make my own and worked well to stretch what I had for a cheap lunch this week. I think this would be a good soup to substitute in cauliflower for low-carbers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Really thick and has great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Excellent and easy to make! I left out the celery, carrots and bacon, but it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States