Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I followed recommendations of halving the potatoes & increasing the milk. I also used chicken stock instead of water & soup base, & used monetary jack cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
It turned ok for us. The bacon didn't brown since the onion cooked faster than it. I would cook the bacon first. Put it to the side and add it when the onion is translucent. I want to try it again. I might make some changes based on other people's feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Awesome. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Darling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Excellent soup - added 1 c chicken borth to thin it out and pureed while batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oureatinghabits
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This turned out really thick, more like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This soup was okay, but didn't turn out at all like I expected! From the reviews and description I was expecting something creamier (don't know why I was with the small amount of milk called for but that is my own fault) and cheesier. This soup was neither. When I tasted the soup after adding the cheese it seems like the cheese was added as an afterthought, not a main flavor. If I have the time I MAY (and that's a big may) try this again. For a creamier soup maybe I'll use whole milk for all the liquid (I only had skim on hand) and use more chicken flavoring and omit the cheese entirely, making it more of a creamy vegetable soup. If I do that I think I'll replace some of the potatoes with a turnip to add some more flavor. The idea was good, but I personally think this recipe needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this soup and it was absolutely delicious! Everyone loved it, although I used ham instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aeverett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake City, Florida, USA
Living In: Hartford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
We didn't like this at all. I followed the recipe but mine turned out more like thick mashed potatoes and extremely bland. I added a bunch of spices to it and we still couldn't finish it. I recommend making half first to test it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good. Used 5 cups chicken stock, I don't use bullion cubes...Cooked on high for 4 hours then crockpot turned automatically to warm :) I used an immersion blender on the entire contents of slow cooker before adding the milk & cheese (3 cups of grated cheese please), this made a nice silky textured soup. I then added diced, cooked red potatoes w/skin on (about 5 small). It was only 20 min extra work to cut & boil them. I added 3 chopped green onions after adding the red potato and bacon. Oh, and it definitely needs more bacon!! I used 10 pieces. The next day for leftovers, I had to add a couple tablespoons chicken stock to each serving to thin it out. Probably not the most heart-healthy recipe but I will definitely make again-my way. Serve with a green salad to feel less guilty ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raine07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made it exactly as directed. It had great flavor, but mine turned into mash potatoes. (not glue though) It was too thick . I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beebs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States