Creamy Slow Cooker Marsala Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Great recipe!!! The only changes that were made was to saute the onion and mushrooms before transferring to the slow cooker. Also low sodium beef stock was added along with the Marsala wine to make more gravy. Comfort food at it's best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was great! Couldn't believe how tender the pork was! My husband said reminded him of a pork roast b/c it was so tender. Put in crock pot at 11:15 & took out at about 5:30 after having cooked on low. I did not use butterfly chops, used thicker cut as thought would be better for cooking so long as the recipe says. The gravy was very good & plenty for the two of us! Served with pasta, green beans & garlic breadsticks. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Loved this! My husband went back for seconds. I used boneless butterflied pork chops and they were so tender they just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This did not turn out the way I thought it would, but to judge the recipe for what it was, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Very tender and tasty! And sooo easy to make! Served it with garlic buttered noodles and had none leftover! Will definitely be made again many times I am sure!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I've had this in my recipe box to try for nearly 3 weeks - all b/c of not having the marsala wine - which is a MUST! I finally got around to making this last night -and I'm sold! The pork was SO tender, and the sauce was a perfect compliment! For the mushrooms, I chose to use baby ports which I sauteed in butter. I made this exactly as instructed - and it was wonderful! I read another poster had problems w/ the sauce being runny...the reason why -this poster acknowledged having added MORE wine than was called for - I think the problem is solved. This will be added to my "tried & true" crockpot recipe collection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is delicious!!! I think it is very important to carmelize (brown in oil) the onions first, it really adds to the appearance. The next time I make this I will use extra garlic and salt. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
The changes I made was to add more garlic (2-3 cloves more), use white wine (that's all I had), simmered the onions and mushrooms for 15 mins adding the garlic in the last 5 mins) and add this to the slow cooker in the last hour of cooking. 4 hours of total cooking time was enough. My husband said it was the BEST pork he has ever had. This will stay in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
used cream of chicken and golden mushroom for double sauce. didn't flour chops. little rosemary. split marsala with chichen broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I loved this! I had all the ingredients on hand (except for fresh garlic, but most of my family don't like a lot of garlic anyway). I added some Cavender's Greek seasoning to the flour dredge, but I add that to most everything I cook. I took one reviewer's advice and whisked together the wine (I used red wine) and the soup. I also added fresh mushrooms and sauteed the onions. I only used 4 chops. I cooked this for 5 1/2 hours in a solar oven. Pork chops were falling off the bone and I loved the sauce. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States