Creamy Slow Cooker Marsala Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I will absolutely make this again, but it only gets 4 stars because I doubled the spices and changed the cooking method of the mushrooms and onions. I did brown my pork chops, then cooked them for 5 hours on low, but I think they would have been done in 4. I sauteed the mushrooms (used two containers of fresh because I like them), onion, 3 cloves of garlic (once clove would never be enough for me), olive oil and a half cup more of marsala until the onions were translucent. Then I added that to the pot the last hour. My husband and I LOVED it. I served it with roasted red potatoes seasoned with rosemary, olive oil, salt and pepper. Super yummy, but I changed the proportions of the ingredients and cooking method so only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
To be honest, I haven't tasted the finished product yet ... it's in the crockpot now, and it smells heavenly. I took several reviewers' suggestions -- saute onions, mushrooms, garlic and add low-sodium beef broth -- they made good sense. But I was surprised by the amount of flour I had left over after dredging 8 boneless chops; I threw away about 3/4 cup seasoned flour. No wonder so many said the seasoning seemed non-existant. I think there was plenty of seasoning, but next time I'll mix it in 1/4 cup flour -- that should be plenty and it will perk up the spice level. Thank you for the recipe, D-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was great! Couldn't believe how tender the pork was! My husband said reminded him of a pork roast b/c it was so tender. Put in crock pot at 11:15 & took out at about 5:30 after having cooked on low. I did not use butterfly chops, used thicker cut as thought would be better for cooking so long as the recipe says. The gravy was very good & plenty for the two of us! Served with pasta, green beans & garlic breadsticks. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I took the advise of other reviewers and sauted the onions, garlic and mushrooms prior to adding them to the pot. I also increased the garlic and doubled the mushrooms. This was quite tasty but I couldn't really taste the Marsala even though I doubled the amount (we really like Marsala). Next time I may use a less expensive wine. Otherwise this came out delicious and the gravy was yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was yummy but a note to those who have new crock pots, 6 hours on low was waaay too long. It dried out the meat immensely. You might want to try 4 to 5 instead. And the sauce could stand to be a bit thicker. Might want to add some flour after you pull the pork out to thicken it up. Flavors were great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is delicious!!! I think it is very important to carmelize (brown in oil) the onions first, it really adds to the appearance. The next time I make this I will use extra garlic and salt. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I've had this in my recipe box to try for nearly 3 weeks - all b/c of not having the marsala wine - which is a MUST! I finally got around to making this last night -and I'm sold! The pork was SO tender, and the sauce was a perfect compliment! For the mushrooms, I chose to use baby ports which I sauteed in butter. I made this exactly as instructed - and it was wonderful! I read another poster had problems w/ the sauce being runny...the reason why -this poster acknowledged having added MORE wine than was called for - I think the problem is solved. This will be added to my "tried & true" crockpot recipe collection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Very tender and tasty! And sooo easy to make! Served it with garlic buttered noodles and had none leftover! Will definitely be made again many times I am sure!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This was very good. I only made a small change and that I didn't use Marsala wine because I didn't have any. I used a very nice Italian wine I had open. The flavor was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I didn't bread the pork and brown it. I used a 2 pound pork tenderloin and threw it in whole with all the dry ingredients (minus the flour). Before serving I shredded/cut up the tenderloin which helped to absorb some of the moisture of the sauce, which is quite runny. This made it the perfect consistency for putting it over noodles. My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States