Creamy Slow Cooker Marsala Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I will absolutely make this again, but it only gets 4 stars because I doubled the spices and changed the cooking method of the mushrooms and onions. I did brown my pork chops, then cooked them for 5 hours on low, but I think they would have been done in 4. I sauteed the mushrooms (used two containers of fresh because I like them), onion, 3 cloves of garlic (once clove would never be enough for me), olive oil and a half cup more of marsala until the onions were translucent. Then I added that to the pot the last hour. My husband and I LOVED it. I served it with roasted red potatoes seasoned with rosemary, olive oil, salt and pepper. Super yummy, but I changed the proportions of the ingredients and cooking method so only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Hmmm. Not what I was expecting. I must admit... neither me or my bf like mushrooms, but we DO like mushroom sauces (i.e. without actual bits of mushrooms) and cream of mushroom soup. We thought this might be good with the acutal fungi removed. Not really. The pork chops had an odd texture (i.e. more like ribs) that just didn't suit us. The gravy (although runny) was good, but there wasn't enough of it, even though I used an entire can of soup and a tad more than 1/2 c. of wine for half the recipe. The pork chops were bland despite the dredging/frying step. I sauteed my onion (1.5 small sliced onions) and 2 cloves of garlic (we LOVE garlic) in the browned bits and a little more oil, but their taste was also non existent. One comment to those who want to try this: be sure to mix your soup/wine together with a wire wisk BEFORE adding to your slow cooker. It makes a difference and gives the two ingredients a chance to equally blend. Served with a side of Parmesan noodles (i.e. Knorr) and garlic bread. Thank goodness for sides! Sorry, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Loved this! My husband went back for seconds. I used boneless butterflied pork chops and they were so tender they just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
used cream of chicken and golden mushroom for double sauce. didn't flour chops. little rosemary. split marsala with chichen broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was good and easy. I didn't bother browning the chops first, I just threw them in frozen. It needs a little more seasoning/flavor to make it a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeiteasy4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This did not turn out the way I thought it would, but to judge the recipe for what it was, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I expected more flavor. Very disappointing! Won't make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I took the advise of other reviewers and sauted the onions, garlic and mushrooms prior to adding them to the pot. I also increased the garlic and doubled the mushrooms. This was quite tasty but I couldn't really taste the Marsala even though I doubled the amount (we really like Marsala). Next time I may use a less expensive wine. Otherwise this came out delicious and the gravy was yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Very tender and tasty! And sooo easy to make! Served it with garlic buttered noodles and had none leftover! Will definitely be made again many times I am sure!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was great! Couldn't believe how tender the pork was! My husband said reminded him of a pork roast b/c it was so tender. Put in crock pot at 11:15 & took out at about 5:30 after having cooked on low. I did not use butterfly chops, used thicker cut as thought would be better for cooking so long as the recipe says. The gravy was very good & plenty for the two of us! Served with pasta, green beans & garlic breadsticks. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States